The Best Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was a tasty and moist meatloaf that the whole family loved. I too used stuffing mix instead of bread crumbs. One note on that: If you use stuffing mix, decrease the amount of salt you put in the recipe. The stuffing mix is already loaded with salt and will make the meatloaf too salty tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
941 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This really is the best meatloaf! It's not bland like most meatloaf recipes. I used a very lean meat ground meat, it was so moist! Good-bye dry meat loaf! I raised the servings to 8, added two full eggs rather than the 1 1/3, used the Bold & Spicy A-1 sauce to give it extra zing..Mmmm, breadcrumbs I had in the freezer that I had made from whole- wheat bread, toasted, broken up, and put it a Cusinart blender that has super sharp blades. Left out the green peppers as I did not have any, didn't miss them, though I am sure you could add what you like and it would remain awesome providing the liquid level of this recipe is kept in balance with items added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
583 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
My family LOVED this recipe and I will make it again. I used canned italian bread crumbs and A-1. Have made it twice and it's been great both times. For those who had problems with crumbling, a little extra egg will do the trick. This meatloaf freezes well too. I sliced mine before freezing it to make for easier reheating and serving. BTW, this goes great with Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese (also from this site) as they both cook at the same temp. and have complimentary flavors. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
518 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lissa30
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I hate meatloaf, but I really liked this way. Followed the recipe except I didn't put green peppers in it, since I don't like them...turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Finally. A meatloaf that tastes like a meatloaf is supposed to. I have tried a bunch of recipes, and none were quite right (none were even close to my mom's). This was the one. I did read reviews and noted that if you use all A1, it's kind of strong, so I did the A1 in the meatloaf and brushed the top with a bbq sauce I had instead. Perfect. Was very happy. Went to 2-1/2 pounds of meat/2 eggs and it needed to cook longer - did one hour as called for, then upped the temp to 375 for another 15-20 minutes. Didn't dry it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I have never liked meatloaf but my dad wanted meatloaf for supper , so I figured I would try this one because it actually sounded good, with the onions and green peppers. It came out fantastic, I actually added bacon to the top of the loaf before baking, and it gave it a wonderful flavor ! Very yummy, has changed my view of meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is the meatloaf I was raised on. Only thing Mom did differently was omit the salt. This is a solid meatloaf that won't fall apart when you go to cut it and it makes great meatloaf sandwiches. When I make this now, I add garlic powder and sometimes a teaspoon or so of italian seasoning. This is also good to make an open faced meatloaf sandwich with mashed potatoes and a good brown gravy. Total comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe is absolutely awesome. Now I made a few changes but this is THE BEST recipe I've found for meatloaf and TRUST ME I've tried a more than I can count. Here are the changes/additions I made. I added 1/2 tsp. of dried sage, 1/2 tsp. of dried parsley, added more egg, used cream instead of milk and used crushed Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs. Also, instead of brushing the top with the rest of the A-1 steak sauce I combined about 1/3 cup of ketchup with about 3 Tbsp. of brown sugar and waited until it baked for an hour. Then I turned the oven to broil, brushed the top of the meatloaf with my ketchup mixture and broiled (watching carefully to not burn) until carmelized. Repeat process until desired crust is achieved....SOO GOOD! Never had a meatloaf so simple yet so flavorful in my life. My girlfriend doesn't really like ground beef and certainly didn't like meatloaf...but after making this...her thoughts have changed. Thanks for sharing the love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Very good--great texture. I used Townhouse reduced sodium butter crackers in place of the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFLINK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
My husband who despised meatloaf loved this recipe and has requested that I make it again! The first time I made it we did not have any green pepper so I substituted chopped mushrooms for the green pepper and it was great. I had to cut back on the mils as it was a little soggy and had to bake it about 30 minutes extra to get it firmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States