The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have to agree with Dee - I have been making these meatballs for 50 some years, as my mother and grandmother did. We do not fry them, we drop them in the sauce about one hour before sauce is finished and wow, what flavor for both sauce and meatballs. Also, I have started using milk with the bread crumbs, softening them first, then putting them into mix.Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawthorne, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
THIS is coming from an Italian who has made her meatballs like this recipe for years just like my mom made. Only difference is I soak my Italian bread in water and squeeze out the liquid and crumble it into the meat and use milk instead of water for more moisture. So glad the video emphasized using FRESH ITALIAN PARSLEY and not the curly stuff. Also the fresh garlic and the good grated cheese are what makes these over the top. PLEASE, PLEASE NEVER COOK THE MEATBALLS IN THE SAUCE. You won't get that crispy outside, just boiled meat. Some people roll their meatballs in bread crumb before frying. You could put them in the oven, but I like frying best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My whole family looks forward to these meatballs & fight for leftovers. I double the recipe & freeze some so everyone goes home hsppy. These are the best meatballs ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Amazing meat balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by audrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivy
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I altered the ingredients and cooking method a tiny bit, so I'd give the version I made a 4.5, but I'm confident that if this were followed exactly they'd be a 5. These turned out yummy. My changes: I only used 1 pound of 80/20 ground beef so I halved the rest of the recipe (it yielded about 23 meatballs) and replaced the Romano with some shredded Parmesan I had in the fridge. I also nixed the oil since I baked them in the oven. I baked them on a foil-lined cookie sheet at 325 degrees for about 25 minutes, then I put the oven on broil and let them cook for a minute or so. They were very juicy but I could've left them on broil a little longer to get them crispier. This was served over whole wheat penne with an out-of-the-jar version of tomato-pesto sauce... So yummy and relatively quick! I will be eating some leftover meatballs in a sandwich for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Excellent!!! I've tried a lot of different meatball recipes and have never found one that I really enjoyed until this one. The others usually had too much onions, spices weren't perfect, etc. Whatever the case. This is a GREAT easy to follow recipe. They came out very moist and everyone loved them. I used seasoned bread crumbs and fresh Parmesan and Romano cheeses and a little less water. Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I didn't have all the ingredients needed, but I used what I had available and they still turned out great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
One word, perfect! Didn't hB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Very good, cheated and used canned parm cheese, dried parsley and dried bread crumbs. A little too time consuming for what it is. That is why I cheated, still very good. And I only used half gr. beef and half sausage. It is the only way I make meatballs now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Gritzmacher Gutsch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 764) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States