The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I know you did not refer to them as Italian Meat Balls but "close enough"....Missing Chopped Onion and maybe black olives...and you would have "perfection"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Luciano
Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My granddaughter said "Nonna, are these from scratch?" as she tasted the meatball!!! Very similar to what I am used to but for some reason(maybe the fresh bread crumbs) they were very delicious and needless to say, the recipe of choice!!! I don't fry - once my sauce is simmering, I drop them in the sauce very carefully and the seasonings even give the sauce more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Great recipe--I also like to bake at about 375 degrees. I use parchment paper instead of foil--they don't stick that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Yes, ok, but not real flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I don't have to try this recipe to know it has to be delicious, The same as amatuer photographer takes hundreds a photos hoping to capture the perfect light and exposure.A great One Knows what he is shooting and only needs a few shots, This recipe is authentic Italian, My fathers mother raise in Naples and my Mothers family from Sicily. The only concern is the water is not needed and can cause complications depending on water vs fat content and that depends on the butcher and what water you use.Maybe better to soak stale Italian bread in water and add to meat while very moist or dripping. The water cooks out anyway. The most important do not over mix. Over mixing causes the juices to come out in the fry pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Fallace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Way too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I am Italian and this is the way I make mine, except I use warmed milk instead of water and mix the bread in it to blend before adding it to the meat. Also instead of the cheese I use onions. I bake them in the oven at 325 degrees for approximately 25 minutes just enough to brown them so they don't fall apart in my sauce. I then drop them into my spaghetti sauce made from scratch to continue to cook. They come out very moist and yummy. I make my meatloaf the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have to agree with Dee - I have been making these meatballs for 50 some years, as my mother and grandmother did. We do not fry them, we drop them in the sauce about one hour before sauce is finished and wow, what flavor for both sauce and meatballs. Also, I have started using milk with the bread crumbs, softening them first, then putting them into mix.Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawthorne, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
THIS is coming from an Italian who has made her meatballs like this recipe for years just like my mom made. Only difference is I soak my Italian bread in water and squeeze out the liquid and crumble it into the meat and use milk instead of water for more moisture. So glad the video emphasized using FRESH ITALIAN PARSLEY and not the curly stuff. Also the fresh garlic and the good grated cheese are what makes these over the top. PLEASE, PLEASE NEVER COOK THE MEATBALLS IN THE SAUCE. You won't get that crispy outside, just boiled meat. Some people roll their meatballs in bread crumb before frying. You could put them in the oven, but I like frying best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States