The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
scaled down to 4 servings. used only 1 lbs. beef, 1/2 parmesan and 1/2 Romano cheeses, 3/4 cup bread crumbs, 1/2 cup milk. added 1 cup chopped spinach. baked at 350 for 20 minutes and increased to 375 for 10 additional minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was my first attempt at meatballs and they came out great! I only had about 1 1/2 lb of 80/20 ground beef, so I tweaked the recipe accordingly. I still used 2 cloves of garlic, 2 eggs, regular dried parsley, and equal parts salt and pepper. I kind of tossed in around 1/2-3/4 cup grated cheese, around 1 cup of Italian bread crumbs, and about 1/2 cup olive oil. I didn't add any water to the mix since it was perfect as is and I fried the meatballs in olive oil until browned. I then added them to my sauce and let them simmer for about an hour. They were some of the best meatballs I've ever had! This is definitely a great base meatball recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Awesome. I should have doubled the recipe to make extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hayden Denehy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
These are the best meatballs!! I didn't have Romano cheese and used Parmesan. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Best Ever!! Followed the recipe exactly. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Armesto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I use this recipe as a base and add my own style to it and they consistently make the BEST MEATBALLS EVER!!! Our family is grain free so our meat is more expensive, thus we just use ground beef because it's cheaper. I also replace the bread crumbs with toasted almond meal, saute some finely chopped onions and celery (this helps to add moisture since the texture is different when you use almond vs flour), and I also add fennel and paprika to the mix. I bake them low and slow on a rack over a cake pan so the fat all drips off of them, then kick the temp up for the last few minutes to brown them. SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Great recipe! I would recommend that you DON'T fry or bake the meatballs before putting them in the sauce. I've been making meatballs for 50 years and have realized that just putting them in the sauce for 20 minutes (no more than 20 minutes) allows for the tenderist, moistest, most delicious meatballs ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I don't know if I did something wrong, but my family thought these were awful. Followed recipe to the tee except only fried half because they were falling apart. Placed remaining uncooked meatballs in my sauce to simmer. My entire house smelled of the romano cheese (very strong). I always use parmesean cheese in my meatballs, who knows, maybe the romano was bad... Between all the fresh ingredients, bread, salad, wine and the take out food, it was an expensive night... I had such high hopes because they looked amazing and the reviews were great:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I thought these were good, but not "the best". My grandmother makes her meatballs, which I like a whole lot, with the three different meats so I expected that these WOULD be the best, but I found myself wishing I'd used all beef. I would have preferred garlic powder too I think because my little pieces of garlic didn't really 'cook' and I had semi-crunchy bits of strong garlic in some bites. I also used far less water. The texture of these was good, and they tasted good too, just not GREAT. I may make again with all beef and a couple other little tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I made these last Boxing Day for my family, everyone raved how good they were. They melted in your month amazing flavor !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

A quick and easy recipe for sweet and tangy meatballs.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States