The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Wow! These meatballs are great. As good as or better than most restaurants where we enjoy Italian food. We used good quality ground beef and spicy Italian sausage from our local farmers market. And we baked instead of pan frying as many other reviewers suggested. I can't even believe we made these ourselves! They are so good. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dead Fish Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Fabulous meatballs. I didn't have veal, so i used pork and beef only. I made homemade spaghetti sauce with a recipe from this site as well and served up the best spaghetti and meatballs ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Great Meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I wanted to make some meatball sandwiches for dinner and found this recipe for meatballs. I reduced the recipe down to 4 servings because there are only two of us. followed the recipe exactly except for the fresh parsley I used dried instead because that is all I had. And I didn't use veal. I used some homemade sausage that I had in the freezer. I didn't fry them I baked them in the oven as others suggested. These turned out great. The only thing I will do different next time is to make them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Thank you, Geanine! I had to make some adjustments and according to my family, they're still 5-star quality: 1) doubled the recipe - as long as your taking the time to fry these, make it worth your while, 2) no veal at my grocery store, so replaced with ground chuck (80/20%) - thus, it's 3 pounds ground chuck and 1 pound ground pork; 3) cost of fresh grated Romano was out of my budget, so one, 8 oz. plastic shaker of a 50/50% Romano/Parmesan blend; 4) no stale Italian bread on hand, so 1 1/4 cup of Italian bread crumbs for a double recipe. While I agree with Geanine that freshly grated cheese and bread crumbs may be more flavorful, the prepared cheese and bread crumbs are much more time-efficient and cost-effective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Branch, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Great recipe! I used 1 lb 93% lean ground beef and 1lb mild Italian sausage. So good that my husband asked if I really made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
these meatballs were some of the best meatballs i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I never had the knack of making good meatballs until now. These meatballs are the best. I made some substitutions out of necessity - 1 1/2 # ground beef, 1/2 cup cheese, and 2 english muffins soaked in water. The meatballs came out tasty and light and just delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Frying is time consuming, but it's great to know I could also bake them at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes if I find myself without the time to fry, roll, fry, roll, fry, roll, drain... The cheese and seasoned bread crumbs taste great. I couldn't find ground veal or pork at my supermarket, so I used a pound of Italian sausage in its place... tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My Hubby and I love these meatballs...They are the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States