The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I live on an island so it was near impossible to find veal, if you can't find it either don't worry! With meatballs its more like a suggestion. I use sausage, ground beef, and ground pork and it tastes great. I make a big batch for my family of 6 and freeze half to use later! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I used venison in the place of the veal and sausage in the place of the ground pork. I also used homemade gluten-free bread crumbs instead of the italian bread crumbs. We par-baked these in the oven and popped them in the freezer. I usually make a very large batch so that I always have them on hand. They make a quick meal, and my whole family just loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Being Italian I have spent a good part of 53 years trying different recipes.....this is now my Meatball recipe. You have to have the fresh Romano and I used Panko breadcrumbs, a little less water and put them right in the sauce. So so good. I always put onions, peppers and garlic in the good processor so you cant even see them in the sauce but you get the wonderful flavor. Add some thin boned porkchops like my nana taught me and you are feasting. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a very good recipe. I changed the Romano to Asiago for fun and like that a lot also. Also, I'm reading other people's comments about the ball sticking to the pan...Cooking 101 people...turn down the heat...you way too hot!!! If your oils is at a correct temperature, they will not stick...I bet the pan is smoking when they are sticking??? There is no way that guy is a chef if he is going to write a comment like that... Just baking the meatballs are going to dry them out. If you want to bake them, at least get a nice sear on the meat so the juices stay with the meat...I like to fry and them simmer in sauce...again...this recipe Is fairly decent! Good job! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I thought the recipe alone was a bit bland. I added onion, more parsley and Italian seasoning and the 2nd part was much better and got rave reviews. I also baked it in the oven at 375 instead of frying in the Olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Excellent! I only put them in the olive oil long enough for them to keep their shape, them put them in my sauce to simmer away for 3-4 hours. They were absolutely delicious! Will make these from now on when I don't want to spend all the time making my stuffed ones.! Oh BTW I only used 90/10 o/o lean ground beef to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
PERFECT. This is the 3rd time I am making them and can't wait for my family to enjoy a great meal! I have no Italian parsley so am substituting with fresh spinach. I'm sure it will be fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VioletSkies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I consider myself to be a pretty good cook, but I could never make a meatball worth a darn...until this recipe. I made these last night, pretty much as written, adding some grated onion, using plain bread crumbs soaked in milk and only one egg and about 1/4 cup water. These held together beautifully! I browned them in just a little olive oil then let them cook completely in my marinara sauce. They were so tender that when we cut them with a fork, they fell apart. Absolutely the best I have ever made! Thanks so much for the recipe! The only one that I will use from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Good recipe. I made a double batch and froze them. They had great flavor and texture..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandynork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States