The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Great job Geanine! Loved the basics. I relatively stuck to them. True to form, it got it done. I strongly agree with your recommendation of the mix of meat, fresh herbs, cheese, initial binders. They DO make a difference! I did take some culinary license, like some others, in regard to adding a bit of red onion, Worcestershire, Panko crumbs & stale bread. I also added 1/4 cup of Italian dressing in lieu of olive oil. I did bake the meatballs rather than fry them. Ping Pong size, 30 minutes at 350. I finished cooking meatballs in slow cooker on high, in basic red pasta sauce for about another hr. I took them to our Super Bowl party and they flew out of my crockpot! It was not only cool that my team won, but I came home with an empty crockpot. Wow! I felt like I won the Lombardi trophy! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sit_us_in Kane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Linthicum Heights, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Too much bread - and - adding water to a meatball recipe is something I never heard of in my Italian family. Cut down the bread and get rid of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
The only thing I do differently making meatballs is I soak the dry Italian bread in water, squeeze it out and crumble it into the meat mixture. I like to fry them so we can eat some before I put them in marinara sauce. The truly are the best meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Exactly the way my Nonna, rest her soul, (mostly with ground beef, though) used to make them! These ARE the best meatballs ever. Neighbors always know when to visit when I start cooking them! Always make a huge batch, but I end up only having a few dozen left for the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Have been preparing meatballs this way for years, only exception is, I add basil, oregano, 1 egg per pound of meat and milk for the liquid. I use to fry, but have changed over to baking them first before adding to my sauce.......they also freeze well after baking for use at a later time without losing their flavor......ME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is how Ive always made my meatballs except Ive never used water and I dont pan fry them I brown them in the oven then add them to my sauce. This is the only way to make meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I made these this past weekend. The mixture is the same as my Italian Nana's. It only needs 1/2 cup of water, and you need to let the mixture rest for about 30 min. before you make the balls. Heat olive oil to med. high, gently roll them,under cook, and drain, before you add then to your "gravy" sauce. I usually build my sauce in the same pot as I saute the meatballs in so I can take up all the tasty little bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Sorry to do this but I did change the recipe a bit. I used 1# of gr. beef and 1/2# of mild Italian sausage. Used an Italian herb mix, parsley, garlic and dried red onion. To that I added 1/2 c. bread crumbs (made from several-day old sturdy white bread) which I mixed with 1/4 c. of milk. Let the bread crumb/milk mixture sit long enough to let the crumbs absorb the milk before adding to the meat mixture. Added 1/2 c. grated parmesan and 2 eggs, a teaspoon each of salt and pepper. Mixed everything up well and used my cookie scoop to make perfect size meatballs. Baked in the oven (350 degrees) for 30 minutes. This made 23 meatballs (a little smaller than golf ball size). Perfect! Thank you, Geanine, for submitting this recipe, without it I wouldn't have had good meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This recipe made awesome meatballs. I followed the recipe except I baked them in the oven. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States