The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Great recipe! I would recommend that you DON'T fry or bake the meatballs before putting them in the sauce. I've been making meatballs for 50 years and have realized that just putting them in the sauce for 20 minutes (no more than 20 minutes) allows for the tenderist, moistest, most delicious meatballs ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I don't know if I did something wrong, but my family thought these were awful. Followed recipe to the tee except only fried half because they were falling apart. Placed remaining uncooked meatballs in my sauce to simmer. My entire house smelled of the romano cheese (very strong). I always use parmesean cheese in my meatballs, who knows, maybe the romano was bad... Between all the fresh ingredients, bread, salad, wine and the take out food, it was an expensive night... I had such high hopes because they looked amazing and the reviews were great:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I thought these were good, but not "the best". My grandmother makes her meatballs, which I like a whole lot, with the three different meats so I expected that these WOULD be the best, but I found myself wishing I'd used all beef. I would have preferred garlic powder too I think because my little pieces of garlic didn't really 'cook' and I had semi-crunchy bits of strong garlic in some bites. I also used far less water. The texture of these was good, and they tasted good too, just not GREAT. I may make again with all beef and a couple other little tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I made these last Boxing Day for my family, everyone raved how good they were. They melted in your month amazing flavor !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Fabulous! Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Great job Geanine! Loved the basics. I relatively stuck to them. True to form, it got it done. I strongly agree with your recommendation of the mix of meat, fresh herbs, cheese, initial binders. They DO make a difference! I did take some culinary license, like some others, in regard to adding a bit of red onion, Worcestershire, Panko crumbs & stale bread. I also added 1/4 cup of Italian dressing in lieu of olive oil. I did bake the meatballs rather than fry them. Ping Pong size, 30 minutes at 350. I finished cooking meatballs in slow cooker on high, in basic red pasta sauce for about another hr. I took them to our Super Bowl party and they flew out of my crockpot! It was not only cool that my team won, but I came home with an empty crockpot. Wow! I felt like I won the Lombardi trophy! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sit_us_in Kane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Linthicum Heights, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Too much bread - and - adding water to a meatball recipe is something I never heard of in my Italian family. Cut down the bread and get rid of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
The only thing I do differently making meatballs is I soak the dry Italian bread in water, squeeze it out and crumble it into the meat mixture. I like to fry them so we can eat some before I put them in marinara sauce. The truly are the best meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Exactly the way my Nonna, rest her soul, (mostly with ground beef, though) used to make them! These ARE the best meatballs ever. Neighbors always know when to visit when I start cooking them! Always make a huge batch, but I end up only having a few dozen left for the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States