The Best Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Baked the meat balls to cut out a lot of the fat. Did not use salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Best recipe!!! Have made these many times. They are my go to recipe....so easy and produces an amazing meatball. Followed recipe, just didnt fry them. Why stand over a stove frying when you can bake them 375 degrees for 20 min, then add to your sauce pot or freeze for future use. Fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedSadge

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I loved the recipe, but did change a few things. Didn't use veal, used dried Italian seasoned bread crumbs, and dried parsley. Also, didn't fry, but baked for 45 minutes in a 350 degree oven. They were light and delicious, and my family really liked them, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
great recipe! Followed recipe exactly except I baked the meatballs on foil sprayed with cooking oil at 350. I made cocktail size meatballs. Finished in 35 minutes. Husband LOVED them. Said they tasted just like his mother's and she came from Italy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is the best recipe for meatballs ever. it is a 11 out of 10. Thank you for publishing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I wouldn't use the veal or pork as described (1/2 pound sounds like something a butcher's in a big city might have though) so I used the Italian Sausage in place of those two. I tried to make this recipe otherwise as described but since I have celiac disease, I had to use rice cereal crumbs instead of bread crumbs. But using fresh parmesano and fresh parsley is definitely required! Once you roll these and start cooking them on medium, let them sit in the pan and cook pretty well before you flip them. I used tongs. But the heat under the pan was uneven and some of the meatballs weren't supported and they just flopped into bits when I turned them. I wonder if more bread crumbs would have helped. After cooking them pretty well, and browning them on two or more sides, I threw them into simmering homemade spaghetti sauce. The kids loved them, I loved them and I liked my necessary substitution :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Way way way too much bread crumbs. I used exactly what was called for and they were too bread like. I always follow a new recipe exactly as written and this was a big mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Very good recipe, although I did alter it a bit. Used half beef & half pork. I didn't have romano cheese, so used parmesean, powdered garlic instead of minced, used Italian seasoning instead of the parsley, added 1/4 tsp of red pepper for a little kick, used a half cup of beef broth in place of the water, and I baked my meatballs rather than frying. A cup and a half of water seemed to be way too much. My meatballs held up well baking as well as when I placed them into my pasta sauce. They are very tender and have a great flavor. The recipe made enough that I was able to get 40 nice size meatballs, half for now and half for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I think the recipe is written incorrectly.i made changes based on other reviewers suggestions For1 pound of ground beef I use 1/2 cup freshly made dried breadcrumbs, one egg and 3/4 cup milk. I add 1/2 cup chopped spinach in place of parsley., add cheese, seasonings, mix together, then roll 1/3 cup meatballs - place on EVOO baking sheet bake @ 350 40-45 minutes. Great to freeze- quick meatball sandwich w red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
followed the exact recipe, but for some reason they didn't hit the spot. Nirvana Meatballs from this site do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States