The Best Meatballs You'll Ever Have Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I am very picky when it comes to meats and meatballs in general.I have to say that the title does not lie.I think these are the best meatballs i ever had.Since finding the recipe a feew months ago I have made them at least a dozen times.I did a few things different though.I added one extra clove of garlic per half pound of beef.I also did not follow the directions very well and actually mixed the butter and olive oil right into the whole mixture.I also added grated parmesan cheese as well...I then put them in a shallow glass baking dish with vegetable spray and baked them in the oven on 370 for 15 minuntes.After this I take them out along with all the juices in the bottom of the dish and cook them in plain old spaghetti sauce for about 15 minutes.The flavor goes into the sauce and is AMAZING.The meatballs end up being so tender that they just fall apart.I also made these for my girlfriend and she loved them just as much...THANKS ALOT for this awesome recipe! One of my favorite things to cook now !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
These are awesome meatballs!!! My husband has had me make them 5 times in the last week. Instead of frying them....I place them on a broiler pan and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Then I broil them for 5 mintes, flip them and broil another 5 minutes. They are perfect!!! I hate meatballs, but the first time I made them my husband and I were fighting over the last few.....we eat them with nothing on them....we would not want to ruin a perfect flavor! Thanks for a great recipe! PS- I have tried them on the stove and I agree with the other posts...do these in the oven and you will not be sorry...this is the best...made them again tonight and did it all in the food processor I got for Mothers day....try them....they ROCK!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Best texture, YES! Melt in your mouth meatballs! Best tase, NO WAY!! These were spicy which was ok but the mustard and worcestshire was way too much! Next time I'll omit mustard and use maybe 1 TBSP worcestshire. I ran out and used less than 2 TBSP this time and it was still overpowering. I will also cut the spices in half next time, I prefer good flavor over spiciness. Also used the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Yep! They're right! These are the *best*! I baked mine in the over for 30 minutes at 350 rather than on the stove. We really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I had to make a few changes based on what I had, but still excellent overall. We like spicy food, so I didn't think this recipe would disappoint. I had a huge quantity of ground chuck to use up today so I made a double batch. I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs rather than the crushed croutons. I also used Spicy Brown mustard rather than yellow. This recipe seemed to call for too much Worch. sauce but it worked and possibly is the key to the moisture of this recipe. I baked these for 20 minutes at 375F, on foil lined baking trays. I should have swapped the trays positions after 10 minutes as one tray was more done that the other, but no biggie. They had a nice kick but didn't seem overwhelming to me. I wasn't sure what Cajun Spice was, and I had a lot of spices in store, so I used one packet of Emeril's essence for a double batch of these meatballs. The meatballs are currently being "individually" frozen on the same trays so I can bag them for later. Thanks for a nice addition to my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morpeth, Northumberland, England, U.K.
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sola
Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Mmm...very tasty. Instead of crushed croutons, I crushed ritz crackers and added some dried parsley and basil. I used Creole seasoning instead of Cajun, and my mustard was of the dijon variety. Instead of cooking them on a skillet (no patience for that constant turning), I baked them in the oven at 350 degrees for 35 minutes and they turned out perfectly. The end result was very good and I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
These are absolutely delicious. At first when I saw some of the ingredients (mustard, red pepper flakes), I thought, these can't be good in spaghetti sauce. But they're great! All of the flavors of these particular ingredients blend together so well that they'll probably be good in any sauce. I've used them in spaghetti and also a ketchup/brown sugar/Worcestershire sauce. They're outstanding! I did not pan fry these, though. I just put them under the broiler for about 15-20 minutes, and then tossed them into my sauce. Also, I don't keep any Cajun seasoning on hand, so I just used good old salt and pepper. Works every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
My husband, who usually doesn't care for meatballs with his spaghetti, declared these the best (even better than his grandma's). I was worried that the cajun spice wouldn't compliment the spaghetti sauce, but it was fine. I used very lean ground beef, browned the meatballs in the oven at 350 for 15 minutes, and let them finish cooking in a slow cooker with homemade spaghetti sauce for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
love these and I love spice so I add a little more pepper and chilli I even love them cold the next day in a picnic lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sar19

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I had to substitute extra bread crumbs for croutons, and used cayenne pepper. I also, because I just have always liked the flavor it adds to meatballs, added 2 tbs of brown sugar (adds some sweetness to the spice) It was added to our spaghetti sauce, and it was an H E double hockey sticks of a meal! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States