The Best Meatballs You'll Ever Have Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
delicious! Made brown gravy with jalapeno and sauteed onion served over rice.. Everyone including my 7 yr old LOVED THESE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I thought these were pretty good and as I become a better cook, I become pickier! I pretty much followed the recipe to a T... I added bell peppers (though they ended up crunchier than I would have wanted, probably because I baked instead of fried) and I didn't have any cajun seasoning so I looked up the ingredients and added everything but the cayenne pepper. My meatballs only had a hint of spice... the spice was perfect. I eyeballed everything else and I probably added less worcestershire sauce than what the recipe calls for and next time, I would probably add a little less and maybe a tad less mustard. But, the flavor wasn't offensive at all. I didn't have croutons, so I used breadcrumbs (don't know if that made a huge difference). I also needed to add an extra egg. And, I baked them @ 370 degrees for 15 minutes, but felt that they needed more time and I baked them for an additional 15 minutes. I didn't add the fat to the sauce and I simmered everything for 15 minutes. I will probably try the other recipe with the 3 meats next time, but I really didn't mind the taste of these. I think these would be better as cocktail meatballs, but definitely try this recipe if you like worcestershire sauce and spice! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Really great way to use up packaged croutons, I made a triple batch since my family loves meatballs, I also added 1/3 of a green pepper to the food processor with the onions and garlic. I did not have Cajun spice so I used Old Bay seasoning. I also used a half teaspoon/lb of red pepper flakes instead of a full teaspoon/lb. I baked them in the oven for 30 mins at 350 as recommended and made the sauce from "Sweet & Sour Meatballs" recipe it was fabulous. The recipe made a cookie sheet crammed full of meatballs and the rest of the triple batch i put in muffin tins to make 12 mini meatloaves for the kids' lunch cans. They all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Doubled this recipe and pretty much followed to a T. The only changes I made were to use loads of onion powder in place of the raw onion-I was afraid they would be crunchy, and that my 4 yr old might protest. :). Also baked at 350 for 30 minutes instead of frying. Turned out good. Not the best I have ever had, but definitely good enough to use this recipe again. Oh, and I served mine with a homemade onion and mushroom gravy on the side. Very comforting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Delicious! I used saltines instead of croutons but oherwise followed the recipe. I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These meatballs were mealy. We could not get past the taste of Wocestershire sauce - it was overpowering and not something you want on pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
We made these with venison and followed the directions for the most part, except for the cooking part (followed the advice of other reviewers and baked in the oven before letting cook up in the sauce). These turned out GREAT, we will definitely make again. We prepared 5lbs of meat, and for this I only added 3 teaspoons of pepper flakes, because I felt like the full serving would have been too spicy. I think if they were more spicy I would not have enjoyed them as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
YES. These were MONEY. Because I am watching my carb count, I used 1/4 c. homemade whole wheat croutons and 1/2 c. parmesan cheese. I also used two egg whites instead of one whole egg. I was out of my homemade cajun seasoning so I used 2 tsp. of Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute. I didn't fry these in oil, I baked them at 350 for a half hour and drained all the grease off. SUPER yummy. Really great with the Best Marinara Sauce Yet, which is also from this site. Really held up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I enjoyed these but the family thought they were too spicy. Also I baked them so they were a bit rubbery, but I'm sure the texture would have been a LOT better if they were fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Zangos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Fantastic meatballs!! Next time tho I will add an extra egg to bind better and soem capers....mmmmmmmmm heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States