The Best Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Not bad as far as mashed potatoes go but I thought this recipe left them fairly dry and heavy; countered with milk and sour cream but it took a lot before I got anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is a great recipe. The hotel where we have our Christmas party every year serves the most wonderful mashed potatoes and I always wondered how they got them so thick and creamy. Now I know - cream cheese! Tip: I never peel potatoes. I cook my potatoes whole in the skins and then cut them in half when they're done and put them in a potato ricer cut side down. The potato goes through the ricer and the peel stays in the hopper. It does take longer to cook the potatoes whole, but you save all that peeling time! I also think the potatoes have much more flavor when they're cooked in their skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These potatoes are fantastic! I made them for thanksgiving and boy did they go over great! The only change I made was to add a little milk, just to thin them a bit, and then they were perfect! I will make these in place of my regular mashed potatoes from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne N

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kanab, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
loved this recipe i made changes like the other raters said about using half of cheese and cream cheese and using a little milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I used 7 medium russet potatoes, 4 oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup heavy cream, 1/2 stick butter, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, 1 cloves garlic(I don't like too much garlic). Delicious!!!! Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
It was very thick. I agree what others are saying about the consistency. However, I like that it is easy and you are using the same pot for less fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getsa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I used this recipe with some tweaks and it turned out amazing. I replaced the cream cheese with a pint of heavy whipping cream, used russet potatoes (what I had on hand) and boiled the potatoes in chicken broth. Otherwise did not change anything, other than to top it off with some cheddar and bacon in a casserole dish and finish it in the oven. Amazing flavor, and after reading other reviews about the dish's consistency, I'm glad I made the sub for whipping cream. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was loved by all. Made at home; placed in a casserole dish and warmed in a microwave at my sisters house. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
sour cream instead of cream cheese, and a lot less parm cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felonious Monk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I've been using this recipe for years now--I'm so glad it's been updated it to use 5 pounds instead of 1 pound of potatoes (which was kinda silly.) ;) I've tweaked it a little to use 10 potatoes which is probably close to 5 pounds (I'll see today!), 8 oz cream cheese, sometimes omitting the garlic, and adding about 1 cup milk to make creamy while mashing. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States