The Best Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I Give this Recipe 4 1/2 stars. I loved the taste but as others have suggested the consistency is a little thick. I used a container of Philadalphia Whipped Cream Cheese (cut recipe back to serve 4) but next time I think I'll use half the cream cheese and half light sour cream. Or maybe add milk...I still have to tweak a bit. I used red potatoes and left the peel on. I also added a turnip to the mix and I loved that! I would cut back on the garlic a bit too.....was a little overpowering. Great base recipe though! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMCMULLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I made these last Thanksgiving and they were SUPER yummy! I do believe I added more milk and I think this Thanksgiving I'll try sour cream rather than cream cheese. I think I added a dash of rosemary as well, and will probably experiment with that more. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmgatzke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
These were delicious. I did not have any parmesan cheese or any chives, but these were the first to go. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
So creamy and rich. Used rosemary in place of chives and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bequita84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
There is no way this recipe can work as written so I followed tips from other users and adjusted the ingredients, otherwise there would be too much cheese. I also added a few splashes of heavy cream to get the consistency I wanted. With my adjustments they came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I ended up making these with Instant Potatoes for a last minute at home Easter dinner. My family thought this was an awesome side-dish. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
John loved them. Me too...just lots of fattening stuff in them. I cut the butter back in half and used 1/4 the chives. Also used low fat cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
put in half a cup of chives, substituted cream cheese for a cup f sour cream, used 1/3 cup butter, and 1/3 cup parmesan cheese, while also using about 3 lbs of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very good!! I didn't follow the measurements exactly, just added in how much I know I like. I didn't have chives with me so that's the only thing I didn't add. However, I added in a packet (like ketchup packets from a fast food restaurant) of malt vinegar, parsley, and panko bread crumbing to give it a more think consistency. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Very very good. I used all but 4 of the yukon gold potatoes in the huge plastic bag in the grocery store, so not sure how many pounds that is, but it makes a LOT. Unfortunately I didn't have a lot of milk to add to them, so they weren't as creamy as I'd like, but they were delicious! Will make steaks next to eat with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States