The Best Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Very very yummy!! I am a huge mashed pototoes fan, and wanted something a little different than grandma's classic.. the garlic and parmesan really class up these tators to create culinary magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
WOW! not to brag, but the changes i made to this recipe...i truly think they were the best mashed potatoes i have ever eaten. used about 7 medium russet potatoes, 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup heavy cream, 1 stick REAL butter, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, 2 cloves garlic (mashed up), sea salt, and cracked black pepper. the KEY to making mashed potatoes creamy is NOT to over mix. set your mixer on about a "4" and mix until it resembles the texture of frosting. also, scrape the sides once about halfway thru the mixing. be careful not to fold too much when you scrape...all that GOOD mixing you are doing to FLUFF your potatoes will be wasted! total...i mix for about 1.5 minutes, scrape the sides, and mix for another 1.5-2.5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberwrites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was great my kids are huge "mash tater" fans thats how we say it here.I added 2 tlbs of sour cream and just wasnt any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Worked out beauty in my quest to use up what we've got on hand. Unfortunately, I agree with mandalin84... These were just "meh" - even with the changes I made. (2 lbs Yukons, 3 oz RF Cream Cheese, 1/4 cp butter, handful of parmesan, garlic, milk - oh, left the skins on the 'tatoes, too). Doubtful if this will have a repeat performance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
These were very thick, since no liquid was added. My hubby loved them, and while they did have a wonderful taste, I felt there was maybe a bit too much garlic; of course, that could be adjusted by the size of the cloves used. And, per other reviewers, I added some chili powder, and some cayenne (1/4 tsp)and thought the additions were a bit overpowering; maybe cut back to 1/8 tsp of the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I have made this recipe twice now to rave reviews both times. I used a little extra garlic and I would recommend fresh chives. Also, when I had to reheat, I used table cream to soften and it tasted equally fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
No vampires at my house! If you like garlic you will love these. If you want to keep your wife from passing out when you speak you will roast your garlic in the oven (wrapped in foil) for about 45 mins before you add it to this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
3 lbs of potaots, 4 oz cream cheese, 1/2 c parmesian cheese, 1/4 c. hot milk, 1 t cloves and butter and garlic. Topped with cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I used 1 cup of parmesan cheese and 1/4 cup of cream cheese. I added garlic salt also insted of cloves. And parsley for looks :) It was sooooo good!! I don't think I can EVER go back to just my regular mashed potatoes again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
We love these! We are lazy and use the steam and mash and then add all the goodies. Still works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States