The Best Lemon Tart Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Great recipe. Be sure to use a good pie dish, Emile Henry 9 inch is my preference. The first version did not come out as well with a lower quality ceramic dish. There is a little too much shortbread crust (if that's possible) for a 9 inch pie. I left out a good bit of the crust dough to get the right thinness to the crust on my final version, pictured here. I used the full amount of shortbread in a bottom-drop quiche pan. But the filling was too thin in the larger quiche pan, so I cooked it longer to crystallize the sugar. I put a dollop of Lemon Curd on the Lemon Bar result and people went wild. The curd was extra filling from the previous day's failed pie attempt when I forgot to pre-cook the crust. This is a great recipe. I learned how to use the heat and pot to get just the right consistency to the filling. Excellent pie that will become one of my standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakenude

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Reduced sugar to 1//4 cup in crust, was a stellar torte, lemony with a crunchy crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Photo by Aalia Salman Hayat
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
It's a wonderful recipe and I tried it on the pre baked shells..... It's yummy...... Took 15 mins for the filling to set though I kept on checkin after every 5 mins Thanx to the chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aalia Salman Hayat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This is so nice and tart and with the shortbread crust it is yummy. One of my favorite recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I was really excited to try this recipe given the great reviews. I baked the crust in a pie mould for 30mins before it turned golden brown. The crust puffed up quite a bit causing it to loose its shape...when I took it out to rest I patted down the crust to resume a tart-like shape. The crust tastes wonderful on its own and smells great baking! I substituted .5 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar for the 1.5 cups sugar filling. The brown sugar caused the filling to turn a darker brown color. I had to bake for 35mins before the tart in its entirety set. To finish, I dusted with powdered sugar when cooled. All-in-all tasty recipe. I gave this 3 stars because of the chaos from the rising of the shell...might benefit from adding a weight while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
So delicious with a nice strong lemon flavor and a perfect crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Przybyla
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This recipe was amazing!! I made it for my husbands birthday. I was a little worried because it looked a little watery, so I left it in the oven for 10 more min. Everyone was amazed by the awesome taste. I had to steal me back a piece. Must make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Przybyla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Amazingly simple and a show stopper every time. Tartness balanced with buttery density of crust. With a tart pan holds its shape so nicely it looks like a bakery shop tart! Take it to your in-laws and smile at the compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Made this simple and best lemon tart. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tirunelveli, Tamil Nadu, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PattyCakes
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Make this recipe exactly all the time. It's so good, the lemon filling sets perfectly every time. I use a tart pan where the bottom is removable pops out perfectly each time. Our friends & family are always happy to see this tart on holidays or get togethers. Decorate with powdered sugar... so tart & so sweet with the sugar on top just perfect. Thanks for a fabulous recipe. This recipe will always be in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States