The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Alter Aries
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Was playing around with the lemon mixture. Instead of 1 1/2 cups of sugar, I did 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of confectioners sugar. For the two juiced lemons part, I used this lemon shaped juice...it says "not from concentrate" and states that it is equivalent to the juice of 6 fresh lemons (read the label after I used half of the juice lol). Thought it didn't quite taste lemon-ee so I used the juice of an actual lemon (one) and said the heck with it and used the rest of the lemon juice product. I like my lemon bars to taste tart and it did lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikealp
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I made these and what an easy yet yummy treat! Made them for a church grillout tomorrow! I agreed with an earlier comment using 2/3 cup lemon juice extra tablespoon of flour and some zest really helps! Tart and sweet! Awesome summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Wow. Didn't change anything and turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My 11 year old son just made a batch and it was delicious. However, just fyi it is not tart and lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
MORE lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
The lemon curd part was pretty darn good. I just made these but I was out of butter so I substituted coconut oil in the crust. I don't recommend it. (Patty wasn't kidding about no substitutions)It was weird, a little like soggy burned peanut butter cookie. So I'll certainly make these again but not until I have butter:)Also I'll probably double the delicious lemon filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
They are very good, but I wonder if the lemon topping could be thicker. It was little more than a coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made them for the first time & they were yummy!!!! I used 2/3 cup of bottled lemon juice. Thanks for posting this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
The crust was way to dry, although I followed the recipe exactly. When I went to cut them and plate them they all fell apart, and I probably only got about half of all of it on the plate. I gave this recipe 2 stars only because they tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I just got finished making this recipe. I tweaked it a bit and added some grated lemon to it and I think it made it even more delicious. The reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I was not crazy about the crust. It was quite bland. I think if I do make this again I will try for a graham cracker crust or see what others have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States