The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Recipe is nearly perfect with two small exceptions - add the juice of 3 lemons rather than just the 2 called for, and you will get a much more distinctive lemon flavour and juicier / more lemon curd-like texture on the top layer. I also find than an extra 5-10 minutes on baking the crust gives it a nicer crunchier texture. Serving suggestion: cut up a punnet of strawberries and cover w/ 1 tsp of sugar. Squeeze the juice of one lime over the strawberries and sugar, and leave to soak for at least an hour. Add a little water if there's not enough juice when you're ready to serve, then spoon the strawberries and juice over the lemon bars when you plate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Szostak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Added a little extra lemon...AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
good, but too much of the cookie part and not enough lemon. I suggest 1 1/2 the lemon glaze part and 3/4 the cookie part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Great Recipe! I have tried several recipes on this site for Lemon Bars and this is by far the best. The only changes I made was to add an extra 1/3 cup of sugar to the crust and I juiced 3 lemons and used the zest from 2, I think anything less and there would not have been much lemon flavor. Also, make sure you "PAM" your cooking dish well or these will stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This is my 4th time making this recipe and I absolutely love it. I like to cook the crust for a little longer (5 minutes) for an extra crisp. But absolutely delicious and everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Perfect! Made a double batch for sharing and they went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVVYSCRAPPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I added two tablespoons of lemonade powder, frozen lemonade concentrate to both the crust and filling mixtures. I then put a knife edge on an old spoon and scraped the lemon out adding this to the filling. Sprinkled coconut atop and baked for thirty minute. Lemon bars on steroids. I substituted oranges in a second batch. The textures were to die for. I served them at a family party. Their Half-Life was twenty minutes. The grandkids lined up for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Good base recipe, but there need's to be a little salt to bring out the butter in the crust as well as more lemon to the custard. I use about 1/2 cup to make it to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I used 4 small lemons and put zest in the crust, filling, and on top after I doused the warm bars with powered sugar. Everyone loved them. I also added another tablespoon of flour to the filling to compensate for adding more lemon juice. I used parchment paper and made a sling to pull the cooled bars out to cut easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Here's a tip: do NOT use a strainer when juicing the lemons. No. I've made one batch w/out straining the lemon juice and just picking out the seeds and they were amazing. Second time I used a strainer to catch the seeds and the lemon bars had barely any lemon flavor at all. Otherwise really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States