The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of adding a bit more lemon juice. The lemon filling didn't even cover all of the crust! Huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Handy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
These lemon bars are addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is a great recipe! for fun, i added teal food coloring to the crust just to make it colorful. the crust was a little bit mushy since i added water to it to get the coloring mixed in, but it is still great and reccomendable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
These are awesome! The only change I made was that I used 2/3 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice and added 1 tbsp more of flour to the lemon mixture as well as some lemon zest. It turned out amazing and everyone loved them. This recipe is definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
My Aunt insists that I make these every time I visit. It has become a family favorite. I usually decrease the sugar a little and it still turns out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I've made these a couple times now and they're always a hit! I've dinked around a bit, and thought I'd report my findings. I make sure to use at least 1/3 cup lemon juice, with a tbsp extra of flour in the custard to compensate for the texture. I throw in the zest from one lemon. Before I juice, I make sure to microwave the lemons and roll them around on the counter for max yield! I wasn't a fan of adding salt to the crust - I thought it added a strange, unneeded flavor. Finally, when the bars are done (and probably better to undercook a tad than get them too chewy), I dust them very lightly with powered sugar. Overall, this is an excellent recipe that even non sweets fans can enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Fantastic. The recipe was very easy to follow, even for an inexperienced college cook like myself, and the end results were highly delicious. The only thing that was a bit vague was the amount of lemon juice. I made the assumption that Patty intended to get the most of the juice out of the lemons and it appears I made the right decision. I ended up getting about half a cup of lemon juice. I will very likely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReluctantBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by asami
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
It was soooooo good!!! I used 3 lemons instead of 2. And it was just perfect! So easy and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monkey
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Everyone loved these! I used the juice of 5 lemons and it was just perfect! I also took the suggestion of another and added a little extra flour to balance out the extra lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandra
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
very good summer bars. next time I think I would add a little more lemon juice because 2 lemons didn't yield enough juice to make it as tart as I wanted...very buttery but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States