The Best Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
MORE lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
The lemon curd part was pretty darn good. I just made these but I was out of butter so I substituted coconut oil in the crust. I don't recommend it. (Patty wasn't kidding about no substitutions)It was weird, a little like soggy burned peanut butter cookie. So I'll certainly make these again but not until I have butter:)Also I'll probably double the delicious lemon filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
They are very good, but I wonder if the lemon topping could be thicker. It was little more than a coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made them for the first time & they were yummy!!!! I used 2/3 cup of bottled lemon juice. Thanks for posting this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
The crust was way to dry, although I followed the recipe exactly. When I went to cut them and plate them they all fell apart, and I probably only got about half of all of it on the plate. I gave this recipe 2 stars only because they tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I just got finished making this recipe. I tweaked it a bit and added some grated lemon to it and I think it made it even more delicious. The reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I was not crazy about the crust. It was quite bland. I think if I do make this again I will try for a graham cracker crust or see what others have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lbaldt
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I made these last night... it just so happens that I had 2 lemons available... I have to say the shortbread crust made these the perfect amount of sweetness to the tartiness of the Lemon filling... The recipe was easy to assemble... I didn't use any appliances... just my hands and a wire wisk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbaldt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Made these today for my niece, and boy did she love them. I have never had a lemon bar so I didn't know how they were suppose to be. My niece said they were perfect and she took most of them home. I also liked them and I'll be making them again, so thank you for a new recipe for my collection. >^..^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Usually I can rely on the reviews and ratings on here to decide to make a dish. Not with this! I followed it to the letter and the crust was way too thick for the amount of filling and tasted like pure butter (and I am a butter lover and did not care for the buttery crust!). The filling was not at all lemony. The texture of the crust was a little off for me too, but I usually do not use granulated sugar in my bar crust I typically use powdered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I read a few reviews before making these. The "bad" reviews made me a bit hesitant to make them, but I did anyway! Here's what I did: * White Whole Wheat Flour in place of white * zested the 2 large lemons & split the amount between the crust & filling (yum) Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. I got compliments on this batch I shared at work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States