The Best Gluten Free Brownies Ever...Seriously Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lisa Jordan Folmer
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Just starting my gluten free lifestyle due to health reasons I was so happy to stumble on this site! These are truly amazing and even my kids enjoyed them! So grateful to find recipes that actually don't taste like they are gluten free and this is definitely one I will keep!! Thank you... I also am not much of a cook so these were made by my 16 year old daughter... Grateful to have such a kitchen savvy daughter! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Jordan Folmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Thiis really is the best brownie. Won a first in open category at my fall fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
These were great! I used white rice flour for teff flour. These were delicious despite the substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Thank you for this family recipe, Lindsay. My son wanted brownies (& ice cream) for his 10th birthday celebration. We are a gluten-free family and even though I love baking and do it quite often, I've never made GF brownies. So I searched online and found your recipe. It came out great! I made a few small changes: -I used a combination of coconut sugar and xylitol (birch bark sugar) and used about 1/8-1/4 cup less than the recipe called for. -I added about 1/4 cup buttermilk (this always makes baked goods really moist) -used sprouted brown rice flour instead of sorghum flour since that's what I had on hand. Sorghum flour is a sweeter rice flour and sprouted brown rice flour is more of a standard flour flavor. -I used a combo of semi-sweet and bittersweet chocolate chips since I didn't have enough semi-sweet. Using less sugar and less sweet chocolate chips still made for plenty sweet brownies. They are so moist, fudgy and delicious. I will definitely make them again. I've already been asked to share the recipe with a friend and I already emailed it to her. Thanks again. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe! I just used it to make my first batch of brownies ever and it came out better than I ever expected. The only addition was a little bit of baking powder and replaced xanthan gum with milled flax seeds (mix with 2 tsp of boiling water to form a gummy substance before adding it to the batter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe using 3/4 cup of GF flour blend - without any gums added - and enjoyed the brownies very much. I don't care for the use of xanthan gum and by reading the other reviews mentioning that the batter seemed "glob-like" or "sticky" felt this was because of the gum and chose to omit it altogether. I used an 8X8 square baking dish (approx. 2 inches high) and they cooked evenly throughout in approximately 30 minutes. The end product was crumbly. I imagine this was due to the lack of any binders. I will definitely use this recipe again. The taste is in fact delicious just like a traditional brownie. Perhaps the next time I'll use some arrowroot or sweet rice flour to help bind more. Thank you Lindsay for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Excellent. Really very good and everyone at the party I took them to was surprised to hear they were GF! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I eat gluten free and this was the perfect dessert. These are the best gluten free brownies I've ever had. The middle was really chewy and the brownies were a little too chocolatey for my taste, but that's just me. Other than that, the brownies were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Boy, Lindsay is not kidding when she called these brownies 'the best ever'!! I bake gluten-free for my mother who has celiac, but this is the recipe I'm going to use whenever I bake brownies. I followed the recipe except that I used 3/4 cup of 'Cup4Cup' gluten-free flour in place of the three different flours and eliminated the xanthan gum. They were simply DELICIOUS!! Props to Lindsay L.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I was skeptical about this recipe once I had everything mixed together because it was like a solid gooey mass, almost impossible to spread out in the baking pan, but WOW they came out amazing!! They took an extra 15 minutes to cook, but that's somewhat typical for my oven. I placed a few peanut butter cups throughout because my boyfriend was craving them but with or without them, we both agreed these brownies taste incredible... you can't tell they're gluten free at all and they're much better than the gf pre-mixes. Can't wait to make them again, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States