The Best Frikin' Party Dip Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This dip was a big hit at our family's Thanksgiving dinner. The flavors are bold, and may be a bit intimidating for the sensitive tasters, but, clearly a standout on the appetizer table. I served the dip with Frito Corn Chip Scoops, which have a reputation of overpowering the flavor of the dip. No such problem here. I prepared the sausage/onion hash before hand. After draining and cooling, transferred to a Rubbermaid 2.4qt container, mixed in the RoTel, then placed the cubed cream cheese on top, and refrigerated. This transported well to the event, and took 5 minutes heating in the microwave, stirring, and ready to serve. This would do best in a fondue pot or chafing dish to keep it hot during serving. When well mixed, the dip sort of looks like old oatmeal or cream ground beef (military veterans will identify this as S.O.S.), so, it is clear that the visual presentation requires chopped chives. I recommend keeping the chives on the large side. I wonder if adding thin slices of seeded Jalepenio, Green Pepper and Red Pepper might add some visual attractiveness? Great receipe Kate-K! Thanks for the good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I made this for a football party and it was gone in about two minutes. I changed a few things though. I used two cans of rotel instead of one, used green onions instead. I also mixed in a cup or so of shredded cheddar cheese at the end. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
My brother in law introduced this recipe to me a few years ago, and every year about this time we make it. I skip the onions and chives and every now and then throw in some cheddar to melt at the end. Typically though, I use hot sausage, regular rotel and low fat cream cheese. This rocks with frito scoops or corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Very flavorful and EASY! Everyone loved it! I served it with bread, much better that tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
very sorry-but this was not a great tasting dip & the look of this dip is really awful-sorry again but will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made this for Super Bowl and ate almost all of it myself. I loved this dip. I am looking forward to making this over and over. There are a few recipes on this sight that I feel like are absoluetly incredible and this is one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I have been making this dip for YEARS! It is VERY addicting!! I do not add the chives or onions tho. I use a mild to medium sausage and the original rotel tomatoes. I serve with Tostitos scoops. We make this for EVERY get together cuz if we don't, people complain! You will be licking the bowl, I guarantee it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
My boys really like this. I've known about this recipe since I was a little kid. Seems like this was always THE hot dip at parties. I make it a little healthier by using turkey sausage, lowfat or fat free cream cheese and homemade salsa, as noone in this house likes RoTel. I like to add fresh garlic, usually at least four cloves. I do not add the chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was easy and quite tasty. I didn't drain the can of tomatoes, so it was a little bit runny. Next time, I would drain the tomatoes. It might be good with velveeta, too, instead of the cream cheese. Thanks for the recipe - it had great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is bomb and we make now once a week just to have around. To make it healthier I used a turkey sausage and non fat cream cheese. Doesnt lose any flavor this way and makes it guilt-free. I also use the rotel with habaneros and since my hubby hates onions I toss in a can of green chiles. Spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States