The Best Frikin' Party Dip Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made this dip for our family Super Bowl party. I used the Jimmy Dean original sausage and the Safeway brand of diced tomatos w/ green chilis... and WOW! It was a huge hit. Men and Women and children loved it. Great taste, just a bit of kick but not too much. I had bread and chips for dipping and they used both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillaine D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Made this Super Bowl Sunday, and although I also made the Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes and roasted pork temderloin, this is the dish everyone raved about! It's absolutely amazing with the spicy flavor. I added about a cup of shredded cheese on top in the end, which made it look great and taste delicious. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I have been making this dip for YEARS! It is VERY addicting!! I do not add the chives or onions tho. I use a mild to medium sausage and the original rotel tomatoes. I serve with Tostitos scoops. We make this for EVERY get together cuz if we don't, people complain! You will be licking the bowl, I guarantee it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This dip was a big hit at our family's Thanksgiving dinner. The flavors are bold, and may be a bit intimidating for the sensitive tasters, but, clearly a standout on the appetizer table. I served the dip with Frito Corn Chip Scoops, which have a reputation of overpowering the flavor of the dip. No such problem here. I prepared the sausage/onion hash before hand. After draining and cooling, transferred to a Rubbermaid 2.4qt container, mixed in the RoTel, then placed the cubed cream cheese on top, and refrigerated. This transported well to the event, and took 5 minutes heating in the microwave, stirring, and ready to serve. This would do best in a fondue pot or chafing dish to keep it hot during serving. When well mixed, the dip sort of looks like old oatmeal or cream ground beef (military veterans will identify this as S.O.S.), so, it is clear that the visual presentation requires chopped chives. I recommend keeping the chives on the large side. I wonder if adding thin slices of seeded Jalepenio, Green Pepper and Red Pepper might add some visual attractiveness? Great receipe Kate-K! Thanks for the good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
My brother in law introduced this recipe to me a few years ago, and every year about this time we make it. I skip the onions and chives and every now and then throw in some cheddar to melt at the end. Typically though, I use hot sausage, regular rotel and low fat cream cheese. This rocks with frito scoops or corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This dip is very good! I have had it before minus the chives...yummy stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fountain City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was easy and quite tasty. I didn't drain the can of tomatoes, so it was a little bit runny. Next time, I would drain the tomatoes. It might be good with velveeta, too, instead of the cream cheese. Thanks for the recipe - it had great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Very flavorful and EASY! Everyone loved it! I served it with bread, much better that tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States