The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Made this, for the second time, yesterday, for a family gathering; it disappeared very quickly. I should stress that this is a FRESH tomato salsa and I learned that the hard way. I'd made an original batch a day ahead and refrigerated it with poor results. The taste was good but the texture of the tomatoes suffered in the 'frige overnight. On its own, there's only a little heat, the jalapeno provides a little bite, but it's not over powering. If you like a mild, fresh tasting salsa, this is for you. That said, this recipe is easily modified with, pretty much, anything else you want to add. Corn, beans, a hotter pepper, or combination of peppers, additional spices, whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I left out the cilantro and jalapeño. It was an excellent, tangy mild salsa! Great with my home-grown tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Great and super quick and easy! I reduced the recipe to one jalapeño for medium and half for mild. Used the blender on "chop" which works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Theriault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So I used 2 tomatoes, 1/4 of a red onion, a bunch of cilantro, 2 jalapeños, 2 garlic cloves,threw it in the blender, diced up 2 tomatoes and another 1/4 of the red onion, the juice of 1 lime, a dash of smoked paprika, chili powder, cumin and salt, mixed the chunks with the blended stuff! OMG!! to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyevans17
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Very tasty. I wasn't sure about the bell pepper, but I had a very mild purple one, so I added it. It's a nice addition. The recipe as instructed makes more of a pico de gallo vs a salsa. I chopped everything first and then gave it a few pulses in the food processor just to purée it a touch without completely destroying the texture. Much more salsa like in texture and delicious! I halved the recipe and it still made a ton. I used only one T of the jalapeño and found the spice to be at the correct level for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Add: 1 tsp sugar (really brings out the taste of the tomatoes) 2 cloves garlic-slice each in half lengthwise and remove the bitter cores first. Crush or toss whole into food processor. I also added 1/2 tsp. Penzey's Chipotle spice and a half stalk of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. I let it sit overnight and the next morning I took about a third out and put in food processor. I put the puree back with the rest of it and mixed it. Perfect blend of juice and chunks. I took it to our church Picnic and it won first place out of 8 salsa's. The judges ate most of it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I seeded the tomatoes and used a food processor. Next time, I'll simply chopped them as per the recipe because it looked like tomato puree. The taste however was awesome! Used it with shredded chicken tacos ( sour cream, cheddar, frank's red hot) and it was very good! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States