The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very good but it is not spicy enough. All I did was add a 2 serrano peppers and a habanero. Then again, I like spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Delicious. Did put everything in the food processor for the more cantina-like consistency. Biggest recommendation is to let it sit for at least an hour to let the flavor develop more. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I love freshly made salsa and this recipe is a good one that can easily be adjusted to one's taste. I added a couple of large garlic cloves and a large seeded jalapeno. (To keep the spice off your hands, wear latex or vinyl gloves while seeding hot peppers.) I also used roma tomatoes - they're meatier and less watery than the regular variety. Put everything in the food processor and had fresh salsa in 5 minutes from start to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Benton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Husband and I went to the Produce Market today and they had very ripe tomatoes, fill the bag for $2. I asked him what in the world was I going to do with all those tomatoes? I found this recipe and made it. WOW I should have tried to the jalnepo's before I made it...its hot!!Good thing he likes hot. Needless to say we didn't find it bland at all. Will make again but will not make the jalepono mistake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Super easy and tasty! I didn't use cumin because I'm not a fan, and no bell pepper because I didn't have one on hand. It came out great...reminds me of the "On The Border" homemade salsa. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I used the exact ingredients this recipe called for. This fresh salsa received rave reviews from some real salsa fanatics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
That's simple Pico De Gallo. Should taste great. Salsa is more liquid than chunky. Pico De Gallo can be added to almost any dish for a little pick me up of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Very good base recipe but I did make a couple of changes. It was too spicy so instead I removed the seeds from 3 jalapenos to keep flavor without heat then used 1 hot and 1 mild jalapeno with seeds to add in just the right amount of heat. Great spice wthout burning your mouth up! I also doubled the cumin and since I'm not a huge fan of cilantro, cut it hack to 1/8 cup. I also cooked mine on medium for 5 minutes for a good blend before putting in jars. Perfect salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe - make it all the time in the summer. I typically leave the bell pepper out. I always chop everything in the food processor to make it quick. Just pulse in the processor a little to chop. It gives you some liquid which I like but not too soupy!! Good and healthy - can't beat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I live in Mexico and have quite a few recipes from my friends here. This salsa is okay, but I prefer mine, which IMO, is more authentic. The quantities are really unimportant as they depend on taste, and every Mexican housewife varies the recipe a bit 2-3 Seeded and coarsely chopped plum tomatoes 3 coarsely chopped green onions juice of 1 lime 2 T chopped cilantro finely diced garlic (amount according to taste, I use 2 lge cloves) 1 jalapeno chopped salt to taste Let sit for a while, so flavors meld pinch of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States