The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I used the exact ingredients this recipe called for. This fresh salsa received rave reviews from some real salsa fanatics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
That's simple Pico De Gallo. Should taste great. Salsa is more liquid than chunky. Pico De Gallo can be added to almost any dish for a little pick me up of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Very good base recipe but I did make a couple of changes. It was too spicy so instead I removed the seeds from 3 jalapenos to keep flavor without heat then used 1 hot and 1 mild jalapeno with seeds to add in just the right amount of heat. Great spice wthout burning your mouth up! I also doubled the cumin and since I'm not a huge fan of cilantro, cut it hack to 1/8 cup. I also cooked mine on medium for 5 minutes for a good blend before putting in jars. Perfect salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe - make it all the time in the summer. I typically leave the bell pepper out. I always chop everything in the food processor to make it quick. Just pulse in the processor a little to chop. It gives you some liquid which I like but not too soupy!! Good and healthy - can't beat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I live in Mexico and have quite a few recipes from my friends here. This salsa is okay, but I prefer mine, which IMO, is more authentic. The quantities are really unimportant as they depend on taste, and every Mexican housewife varies the recipe a bit 2-3 Seeded and coarsely chopped plum tomatoes 3 coarsely chopped green onions juice of 1 lime 2 T chopped cilantro finely diced garlic (amount according to taste, I use 2 lge cloves) 1 jalapeno chopped salt to taste Let sit for a while, so flavors meld pinch of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Instead of lime I used fresh lemon, serono peppers and added fresh cilantro and no black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Made this, for the second time, yesterday, for a family gathering; it disappeared very quickly. I should stress that this is a FRESH tomato salsa and I learned that the hard way. I'd made an original batch a day ahead and refrigerated it with poor results. The taste was good but the texture of the tomatoes suffered in the 'frige overnight. On its own, there's only a little heat, the jalapeno provides a little bite, but it's not over powering. If you like a mild, fresh tasting salsa, this is for you. That said, this recipe is easily modified with, pretty much, anything else you want to add. Corn, beans, a hotter pepper, or combination of peppers, additional spices, whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I left out the cilantro and jalapeño. It was an excellent, tangy mild salsa! Great with my home-grown tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Great and super quick and easy! I reduced the recipe to one jalapeño for medium and half for mild. Used the blender on "chop" which works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Theriault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So I used 2 tomatoes, 1/4 of a red onion, a bunch of cilantro, 2 jalapeños, 2 garlic cloves,threw it in the blender, diced up 2 tomatoes and another 1/4 of the red onion, the juice of 1 lime, a dash of smoked paprika, chili powder, cumin and salt, mixed the chunks with the blended stuff! OMG!! to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyevans17

Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States