The Best Double Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This is the author of the recipe, I have noticed some of you had some problems with the cookies from postings on here. For one I use a little extra flour when I bake them also I always use tinfoil (shiny side down) when I bake them. The cookies are also better when you make bigger cookies, smaller cookies tend to be too hard. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This cookie got rave reviews from everyone when I actually used extra cocoa powder, which not only made a darker, more chocolatey-appealing cookie than the picture, and it also counter-balanced the sweetness of the sugar. My cookies didn't turn out flat at all! They came out big and fluffy, and they stayed chewy all week (they probably would've stayed chewy for longer, but people loved them so much, they didn't last that long).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I thought these were a little too sweet, hubby did not. Still, I would reduce the sugar by 1/2 cup if I was to make these again. I used butter for better flavor, upped the cocoa powder to 1/2 cup, and used 1 cup each of white chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate chips. They bake up beautifully and perfectly--bakery quality looks. For those having problems with flatness, the solutions are simple--do NOT grease the cookie sheets, and chill your dough about an hour or so to firm it up a litte before dropping it onto the cookie sheets. Do not add more flour to firm up the dough! A good recipe, but not "the best" as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Oh Oh OHHH!!! This is really the best recipe ever! Okay, I tweaked it a little, here's what I did. I used 1/2 a heaping cup cocoa powder, all butter, added a teaspoon cinnamon, and a smidgen of cayenne pepper. It doesn't add spice persay, just some warmth that goes so nice with the sweetness and the richness of the chocolate. I also substituted 2 c. 60% bittersweet chocolate chips, and 1 c. chopped almonds for the 3. chocolate chips. These came out so crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside. I baked them for 10 minutes, they were perfect. I used my Silpat instead of greaing a pan.I have a keeper here. I gave them as a hostess gift at my Bunco group last night. She loved them. I love how there isn't a huge long list of ingred., just simple and well proportioned. I have always had trouble making cookies, but this was foolproof. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momevans4x

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Oh so yummy. Use it with peanut butter chips too. One suggestion, lower heat 25 degrees and don't grease your pan - just use a non-stick cookie sheet. The greased pan caused the cookies to spread and get burned lacy edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I liked the flavor of this cookie, but I only had butter on hand which didn't help these cookies to retain their shape (which they didn't-they flattened out considerably). I halved the recipe and subbed about a 1/2 c of peanut butter chips for some of the chocolate, which added a nice flavor, but I would totally suggest using margarine and maybe even chilling the dough for a while to help them keep from spreading out into pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
They were very good! My first batch turned out fine. But my second batch burned. Be careful not to leave it in the oven too long or it will be crispy. Take it out once you see cracks on the top of the cookie! If you don't have unsweetened cocoa powder, use regular hot chocolate or cocoa mix. Just use 3/4 cup of white sugar and 3/4 cup of brown sugar unless you like your cookies extremely sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
My family loves this twist on a classic favorite. I make these all the time. I do add 1/2 tsp salt and hope that adds some lift. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Shannon, your friends are right! This is a great recipe. I made these today, and they were an instant best seller. They're gorgeous! And they taste good! Thank you! *****I want to add, I never use margarine, so we always make these cookies with butter and don't have any problems with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
3 cups was a litle too much chocolate chips, i tried 2 instead and the cookies came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States