The Best Double Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These cookies totally rock!! My whole family love them.. the kids, the hubby and I. I think they really are the best double chocolate cookies ever. I only do a few things differently, I always use whole wheat flour and real butter.. sometimes I use coconut oil instead or butter.. sometimes I use carob chips.. sometimes I reduce the sugar by almost half & add in agave nector or date puree for sweetness... it doesn't make a difference at all, they are excellent no matter what. Oh, also, DON'T overbake!! I bake mine only 8 minutes, they look almost undercooked, but after waiting 2 minutes for them to cool on the cookie sheet they are totally perfect, soft & chewy with lightly crunchy edges. Thanks a ton, this is a family favourite now at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Absolutely the best chocolate cookies I've ever made! I read the reviews and added the extra cocoa on purpose (1 cup)!!! I also loved the idea of flattening the dough with the glass dipped in sugar and cocoa. It makes them a very uniform size and they baked to perfection in 10 minutes in my oven. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
The cookies tasted wonderful. I think that it was the cocoa powder that was added to the dough. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I experimented with chocolate chip cookies a lot!!! And you know what, this is the best recipe!!!!! My husband said that these were my best cookies!!! On the next day we usually warm them up for 20 sec in a microwave, so they taste like they are just from the oven. But these cookies are soooo good!!!! Thanks a lot for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mila

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Fabulous double chocolate cookies! Exactly what I was looking for! I didn't have margarine, so subbed 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening. Misread the recipe, and added 1 1/3 cup cocoa instead of 1/3 cup...a mistake with delightful results! Did not grease the cookies sheets. Tried baking three ways: rolled into balls, dropped by Tbsp, and rolled into balls then flattened to 1/2" using a cup bottom dipped in cocoa and sugar. The flattened ones came out the best, didn't spread at all, just baked up soft and chewy, with a cracked sparkly top. Lowered temp to 350* and baked for full 10 minutes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These are AMAZING! I changed it just a little. Instead of 3 cups semisweet chips, I used a cup of semisweet mini chocolate chips, a cup of milk chocolate chips and a cup of white chocolate chips. Absolutely the best chocolate cookie I have ever had. My brother who does NOT eat chocolate EVER tried one (after a lot of prompting) and ended up eating 3 in one sitting. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These are very rich and very sweet! If you find that you eat a half dozen cookies when you bake a batch, this may cure that issue. I couldn't finish a second one. I used a little extra cocoa powder and about 2 heaping cups of chocolate chips and it was plenty. Next time I make these I will reduce the amount of sugar, probably to 3/4 cup of each brown & white, and maybe try white chocolate chips. I made big cookies, baked for about 12 minutes, and they had a wonderful soft chewy texture. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Perfect consistency, wonderful taste! My husband's new favorite cookie and mine! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Wonderful cookie......a chocoholics dream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWQPYED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerrobert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Fantastic. Used a little less butter/margarine and compensated with olive oil and they still came out fantastic. Also less chocolate chips. But this recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Didrik

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States