The Best Double Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
My family loves these cookies. The only problem is i can't keep them in the cookie jar because they disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Now that my cookies are out of the oven and flat and rather no descript in shape I see there was a very recent update stating to referate the dough., I am sure this would make it better. I followed the recipie to the letter and my dough was runny and my cookies are flat. I might try this again with refigeration but was not impressed with the first round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I just wanted to share a tip for those of you who are saying that your cookies are turning out flat. I always, always, ALWAYS refrigerate the dough overnight (or at minimum for several hours) before baking them. While they're still good and cold, I roll them into balls and then bake them that way. If the dough begins to soften between batches, just pop it in the freezer to keep it chilled well. Hopefully that will help. Chocolate chip cookies are an art. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Talk about the perfect cookie.. We follwed this recipe to the T... They almost actually taste like brownie cookies.. Now the next step is to try some white chocolate or peanut butter chips. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiealcorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Delicious! Everyone loved these cookies. The only difference I made was dark chocolate chips instead of regular. The one problem I had was they were very flat, with crispy edges. Next time I'll add more flour and maybe 1/2 shortening 1/2 margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan_bakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I modified this recipe slightly based on other reviews. I used 1/2 cup cocoa, 2 cups chocolate chips, 1 tsp cayenne, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon and had the oven at 350. I stuck to the rest of the recipe. I added the margarine and eggs to the sugar right before I combined the wet and dry ingredients to make sure my margarine wasn't melty? I did not grease the cookie sheet. The cookies turned out fluffy after 10 minutes exactly and they dropped a bit out of the oven. They were crunchy on the outside and chewy and delicious inside. I probably will use a little less cayenne next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walpole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I started making these at work 2 years ago. The residents and staff love these. Recently I put all the ingredients in separate bowls and then had the residents add ingredients as called for. Very easy recipe to make. They get eaten very fast. Oh, I do one bag chocolate chips and one bag peanut butter chips. They are harmony together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Okay, I made some mistakes the first time around, but I tried again and I'm here with a five star rating, once I did it right. Don't grease the cookie sheet, duh, it says that already, but I did it anyway. Flat cookies! I used butter as well, which might have contributed to the flatness. Second time around...ungreased cookie sheet+ 2/3 cup cocoa powder+ chilled the dough= excellent cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Was looking for very chocolately, fudgy cookie recipe and found this. Am just eating my second cookie! I found exactly what I was looking for!! Turns out this recipe is very close to my standard choc. chip cookie recipe from my mother-in-law, which took me many years to perfect, except that the flour is reduced to accommodate the cocoa powder. I gave this four stars because I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup white, 3/4 cup brown and cookies were still PLENTY sweet - oh and that includes after reducing choc chips to 2 cups and adding 1 cup slivered almonds. Also substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour for a cup of the white, and 1/2 cup butter for 1/2 cup of the marg. Added a couple of shakes of cinnamon and a dash of cayenne (per another readers tip). End result is extremely yummy, dark chocolatey, fudgy cookies. As to perfecting my mother-in-laws recipe, I learned that the consistency of the fat (she uses 1 stick butter, 1 stick crisco) is critical. It cannot be too runny or too cool. Works best if left to warm to room temp. She swears by making a single "test" cookie first, and then adding additional flour if needed, but I can never be bothered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I can't exactly rate this recipe because I made one alteration that could have changed the outcome-- I used butter... but because I was taught to use butter. These cookies taste absolutely amazing and rich in chocolate. I never bake dark cookies, so it was very difficult for me to take them out right when the edges were dark/ a little under-baked (the way I like my cookies). These cookies were also not very aesthetically pleasing. But, I definitely thought the chocolate and crispiness of the cookies were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States