The Best Double Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
These are very tasty! After reading other reviews, I used a heaping 1/2 cup of cocoa, 1/2 margarine 1/2 Crisco, and baked at 350 on UNgreased cookie sheets. They came out great and held their shape very well, in fact they hardly spread at all. I added pecans to the last pan-full and they were even better. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This was good, but I was disappointed by the flavor. The cookie dough lacked the deep chocolatey flavor I was looking for. I used white chocolate chips because I like "black and white" cookies. These cookies also spread a lot and end up thin and crispy. I think I will try the suggestion of using melted baker's choclate instead of cocoa powder. This is a good recipe if you like crunchy cookies instead of soft/chewy; just not a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
GREAT RECIPE! Everyone who has tried these cookies asks me for the recipe. Makes a lot of cookies too - perfect for chocolate lovers! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
My daughter told me this morning she would like to make Chocolate/chocolate cookies. I said I would try and then I found this recipe. I have to say these are very good. And it's not too chocolate tasting either. I used butter flavored crisco instead of margarine and they were light and fluffy. I would double the recipe though because I made them a little big in size and there weren't many to go around. Thanks for sharing this recipe will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside, couldn't be more delicious! I used butter, (it was all I had) and 1/2 cup of cocoa (because I love chocolate). Cookies held their shape just right. Thanks for a great cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYROY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
i knew this recipe was going to be good when i was practically licking the batter out of the bowl! amazing! i halved the recipe, added a little extra cocoa powder and they came out nice and chewy and puffy. might put in some walnuts next time i make them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
My whole family loved this cookie! And my husband usually doesn't like things with too much chocolate. He actually asks me to make this cookie. Everyone at his and my work loved them! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This cookie got rave reviews from everyone when I actually used extra cocoa powder, which not only made a darker, more chocolatey-appealing cookie than the picture, and it also counter-balanced the sweetness of the sugar. My cookies didn't turn out flat at all! They came out big and fluffy, and they stayed chewy all week (they probably would've stayed chewy for longer, but people loved them so much, they didn't last that long).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I liked the flavor of this cookie, but I only had butter on hand which didn't help these cookies to retain their shape (which they didn't-they flattened out considerably). I halved the recipe and subbed about a 1/2 c of peanut butter chips for some of the chocolate, which added a nice flavor, but I would totally suggest using margarine and maybe even chilling the dough for a while to help them keep from spreading out into pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This cookies were great! My kids just about tackled me to keep me from taking them to my activity. After reading the reviews about flat cookies, I used parchment paper on my cookie sheets, cut the temp back to 350 and baked for 10-15 minutes watching for the cracks to appear on top. I added just a touch more flour (1/4 cup, maybe) and just dropped the dough on the sheets rather than rolling it. They are a flat cookie but not abnormally so. They came out square because I put them too close together so I would separate them a bit more next time. There will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States