The Best Doggy Biscuits! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
My dog loves these treats! I lined up all of her treats, and she chose one of these! I added a few tablespoons of parsly and garlic powder. I also added some peanut butter. I recommend cooking a lot longer to make a texture similar to other dog treats. Thanks for the recipe! **UPDATE** I have found that the shelf life of these treats are about 2 weeks or less. But don't let that stop you from trying this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
These are Awesome !!! I omitted the salt and added 2 bouillion cubes (1 Chicken, 1 Beef) and 2 tsps. of garlic juice for the summer, to keep the fleas etc off my dogs. They absolutely love these treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 007librarian
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Four paws up from my Ridgeback, who seems much more excited to get these treats than the ones from the store. I ended up with 100+ treats, making them about 1.5 inches around (along with some tiny Pomeranian bites too). I added peanut butter to the second half of the batch. Thanks for sharing this easy, no roll recipe! UPDATE: In case you're new at this, I wanted to remind people that these treats will get moldy since they have no preservatives. Keep a close eye out so your pooch doesn't get sick! My frozen treats have thawed out quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Love this recipe! Read through all the reviews and ended up adding reduced sodium beef broth instead of water, a dash of garlic (for the fleas) then a dash of parsley (for their breath). Mixed in a touch of food coloring for red and green Christmas Canine Cookies! This is a great BASE recipe for your pup - I am going to add some peanut butter next time (salt-free of course)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
These were easy to eat and my dogs ate them up. I added peanut butter to the mix and lets just say there are none left and I am getting ready top make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My basset hound loves these! I omitted the salt and substituted fat free, low sodium chicken broth for the water. I put the dough in the fridge for about 10-20 minutes and then took it out, pressed the dough into a cookie sheet and then used cookie cutters to make Christmas trees and stars. I simply peeled away the extra dough and pressed it into another cookie sheet and repeated the process. The biscuits are really cute! I took them to a cookie swap for girlfriends with dogs and I gave some to my vet for Christmas (along with people cookies!) A+ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
My chihuahua/terrier mix is going WILD for these. I added a chicken bullion and some cheddar cheese. I break them into smaller pieces for training. I even made some in long skinny shapes to fit in his Kong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was really easy. I liked that you didnt have to roll out the dough and cut with cookie cutters this was much quicker. I rolled into balls and let my 2 1/2yr old press them with a fork(like for pb cookies)Instead of veg. oil I used bacon grease and instead of water I used meat drippings...I have a george foreman grill and I usually save the juice to pour over the dogs food. I also added 1/2t garlic powder. I'm not sure if I'll put in the whole tablespoon of salt next time...not sure why it needed so much. I would never use that much in a recipe for people. Anyway..my dog loved the cookies. We will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I added a beef boulion cube to the hot water.My 15 week old shi-tsu loves them- cant get enough. They were easy to make and fast. However, my German Shepard doesnt care for them at all- he took them in the yard and burried them. The rat terrier ate one- only because my shitsu had one.Maybe I will add another cube or two to the water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Fantastic recipe especially since you do not have to roll out and cut out...I substituted oatmeal for the corn meal flour and added 1/2 c applesauce and used 1/2 c water...also added 1T cinnamon with the dry ingredients...make these every Friday and dogs wait in front of the oven for them to be done...definately a 4-paws recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States