The Best Doggy Biscuits! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
My dog lili is so picky, she likes them but takes a long time to eat them. But I made these for christmas presents for my family and friends dogs and they loved them, I used low sodium beef broth instead of water, bacon dripping instead of oil, and added 1 cup of cheddar cheese, I strongly suggest that you put the mixture in the refrigerator for 15-20 minutes then you can roll the dough out and use cookie cutters. Excellent recipe with alot of options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My basset hound loves these! I omitted the salt and substituted fat free, low sodium chicken broth for the water. I put the dough in the fridge for about 10-20 minutes and then took it out, pressed the dough into a cookie sheet and then used cookie cutters to make Christmas trees and stars. I simply peeled away the extra dough and pressed it into another cookie sheet and repeated the process. The biscuits are really cute! I took them to a cookie swap for girlfriends with dogs and I gave some to my vet for Christmas (along with people cookies!) A+ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
These passed the taste test, so they're given an automatic 5 stars. Both of my boston terriers loved them. I chose to roll out the dough and cut them into cute little stars and moon shapes. The dough handled beautifully; no need to add additional flour. I also didn't add any of the salt - I didn't think it served any purpose. Besides, I threw in a small amount of parmesan cheese anyway. They baked up very nicely and filled my house with a pleasant smell. Thank you for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Try pressing these down on the pan with a paw shaped stamp- it is fun to use and the kids really enjoy this step
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
These are great. My black lab loves them! Will definately make these from now on instead of buying treats from the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lian W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Excellent! My Chocolate lab loves them so much. He was so excited for another one, I noticed there was a huge strand of drool hanging from him mouth! He loved the dough too, just like me:) I followed the advice of other people and used beef broth instead of water and omitted the salt. I added about 1/4 cup of parmesean cheese and about 1-2 Tablespoons of parsley. Next time I will add garlic too. This recipe is a perfect base that you can customize however you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 007librarian
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Four paws up from my Ridgeback, who seems much more excited to get these treats than the ones from the store. I ended up with 100+ treats, making them about 1.5 inches around (along with some tiny Pomeranian bites too). I added peanut butter to the second half of the batch. Thanks for sharing this easy, no roll recipe! UPDATE: In case you're new at this, I wanted to remind people that these treats will get moldy since they have no preservatives. Keep a close eye out so your pooch doesn't get sick! My frozen treats have thawed out quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I have 3 dogs - and make these all the time for them. They all absolutly love them! I say 'homemade cookie' and all three come running! lol Great budget saver too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
My dog loves these treats! I lined up all of her treats, and she chose one of these! I added a few tablespoons of parsly and garlic powder. I also added some peanut butter. I recommend cooking a lot longer to make a texture similar to other dog treats. Thanks for the recipe! **UPDATE** I have found that the shelf life of these treats are about 2 weeks or less. But don't let that stop you from trying this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
These were easy to eat and my dogs ate them up. I added peanut butter to the mix and lets just say there are none left and I am getting ready top make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States