The Best Corn Bread You'll Ever Eat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Real cornbread isn't supposed to be sweet! This is how my mother has made cornbread for years, except I don't recall hers having milk in it. I think it has another egg and maybe more sour cream. As with traditional southern-style cornbread - before she found this recipe with sour cream and corn, we heat the oven to 450, not 425, and first heat the empty skillet up really hot on the stove top, add a couple of tablespoons of oil, swish it around to coat the pan, toss in a big pinch of cornmeal, swish it around and let brown a little - won't take but a moment, pour the batter in the pan THEN put it in the hot oven and bake until real good and brown. Nothing better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
VERY easy and very ggod. Didn't have I skillet, so I used a baking sheet. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Sparrow Bush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Looked very nice but tasted very bland. I was expecting something a lot sweeter and this was more like a corn brick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This recipe was okay but I wouldn't consider this the best corn bread. Too much liquid and not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I wish I could say that this was great but it was terrible....there was no flavor what-so-ever. I'm just glad that I had a couple of boxes of cornbread mix otherwise my family would have been very disappointed having a thanksgiving without cornbread....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I love this recipe, full of flavor and moist not dry, it was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I tried this recipe because I wanted a cornbread that was moist. I loved the consistancy of it, very moist but it lacked flavor. I did add a 1/4 cup of sugar but still thought it needed something. I will definately try it again, just spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATDP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Followed advice from other postings and added sugar (1/4 cup) and used sweet creamed corn. Had to bake for 40 minutes. The cornbread was very good...moist. However, it lacked something. I think I may add some salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This recipe is awsome!! I usually don't care much for anything with cornmeal in it,but this was wonderful.We will be having this a lot this winter.I read all the reviews before trying it,so we added sugar to it...it was perfect.Just wish we could give it more stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glasgow, Missouri, USA
Living In: Galmey, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States