The Best Corn Bread You'll Ever Eat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I love this recipe. I've made it several times and each time, i get raving reviews. The best thing about this recipe is that it truly gives you a moist cornbread. Countless times I've been told that no one needs to use butter with the cornbread. I've made this recipe as provided and also with several modifications. I've made it with a mixture of mexican and pepperjack cheese; i've made it with onions, jalapenos, and cayenne pepper. It's a super-easy batter to make and it is the best corn bread you'll ever eat. For those that commented on how sweet the cornbread is, it's relative. I didnt think the original recipe was sweet and none of the folks that ate did either. This is definitely worth trying if you're looking for a cornbread recipe. I doubt you'll look any further once you try it. thanks debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This cornbread was just ok. It turned out very dry and didn't have much flavor. I won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is my favorite cornbread recipe, and I never used to eat cornbread! My husband and I are the only ones that eat it, so I freeze the leftovers. When ever I make chili or pinto beans, I just heat a piece of frozen cornbread in the microwave and put the chili/beans over it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Just tried this recipe and I have to say my friend and I didn't really care for it. It left an odd flavor in my mouth. After I tried it I went back to make sure all of my ingredients were fresh and to make sure I hadn't ommited anything. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I wanted to try this recipe because of the sour cream. I personaly think that the corn makes this too sweet. I have to agree with Auntnett's review. Maybe it's a southern thing, but corn bread isn't supposed to be sweet. No offense to anyones personal taste, but I can't believe that anyone would want to add sugar to this. Like Auntnett, I also heat the oven to 450 and heat some oil in the empty skillet before adding the batter. I'll make again but I'll leave out the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
NOT "the best cornbread I ever ate". It tasted decent at first, but after it cooled down it had an odd taste to it. I doubt I will make "this" recipe again, when I've had better. It definitely needs some doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I used Krusteaz corn muffin mix (a little more than 2 cups), omitted the oil and cooked at 400 degrees in a 9x13 glass baking dish. The best cornbread I have made so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I liked this recipe. It uses creamed corn which adds something different. The result is rich and moist. If you want flavorful cornbread, add hot peppers, onions, and/or cheese. I did add the 1/4 c. sugar as recommended by others and used a preheated oiled cast iron pan. I added our own dried habanero chili powder to the batter. We had it with black eyed peas and chopped onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was okay. The first piece was really good, but I dont know....it just wasnt very good after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This does make a very moist cornbread with a wonderful, crispy crust. It turned out delicious, but I did do a little doctoring b/c the batter was very bland--I added 1/4 cup sugar, some Tony's Cacheres, cayenne pepper, some melted butter, and another egg for good measure. I had to cook it about 45-50 minutes. It was pretty good, and we had it with chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States