The Best Corn Bread You'll Ever Eat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Recipe was very easy and I followed some of the suggestions listed by other folks, but the taste was not what I expected at all. Not sure what type of dish this would go with, but I have a whole pan to try to find it. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
What Cornbread is supposed to be! Those that didn't like it were probably expecting that syrupy sweet commercial stuff. I do agree with another reviewer that suggests preheating the skillet. I like sweet corn bread on occasion, for dessert or similar, but this one with a big bowl of pintos was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
So good it took me back to my Grandmas kitchen thank you for that a real treat. It was gobbled right up had to make another pan. This will be a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
It may be that I goofed, but the "batter" was more like a dough, very, VERY dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of, was the bake time. It took almost 20 minutes longer to bake than the instructions called for. But it was worth it, moist and yummy, with a crunchy crust. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This recipe was exactly the kind of cornbread I was searching for. It is a true Southern style of cornbread (not a semi-sweet cake mix like the Northern style). The cream corn adds a great texture, and the sour cream is a nice addition as well, especially since I will use leftover sour cream, but buttermilk tends to go to waste. I have made this several times, and would not change a thing (maybe add some chopped jalapenos for mexican style...but I digress). Great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Lies! The only exemplary word I can think of to describe this recipe is FLAVORLESS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Uskglass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I didn't enjoy this recipe at all. Too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUBBLES89021

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Well, considering I do not like sweet corn bread I have to say flavor wise, this was pretty tasty with chili. HOWEVER, it doesn't cook well. I had it in a stoneware pan and had to cook it over an hour to get it done. I had to switch from 425 to 450 and then again to 475. I don't know what the deal is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evergreen, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jackson, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States