The Best Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
a great base that lends itself well to improvising. i threw in some dried basil, some fresh spicy oregano and finely chopped kale from the window box. a cooking tip that worked out great: as the sauce is reducing, toss in the al dente pasta and let it cook down together. it will soak up a lot of the liquid and get an incredibly buttery texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Not like momma used to make, but pretty good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I loved this recipe..used a little less butter..all else the same. So easy and tasty. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Just a few things I'd change after I made this the first time...I'd add a palm full of pepperocino (crushed red pepper flakes), wich would of been sauteed briefly in the olive oil with the garlic until fragrant, then ad the onions. I'd also of prefered fresh clams, the canned clams tend to leave a lot desired for me. You can taste the difference...I'd also of swapped out 1/2 cup of butter for 1/2 cup of rosemary infused olive oil, or maybe garlic infused olive oil. The butter really wrecked my cholesterol intake for the day, but I've been good and deserved a dish to spoil myself with. To me this was just your run of the mill resturaunt style white clam sauce, though instead of dry white wine, I liked it better with a good sparkling wine in the sauce the second time around, I used a Prosecco, a sparkling, fruity white wine made in the Tre Venezie region of northeastern Italy. They are relatively cheap wines starting off at 10 dollars a bottle, though the bottle I used was Ruggeri Prosecco Cartizze at about $32. It was a vast improvement over dry white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Easy and delicious! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was great! All 3 of my kids (5, 6, & 18 mos) and my husband loved this. It is very rare that I find a recipe that everyone loves. I used 10 oz of fresh pasta, 2 cans of clams and added mushrooms. I kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is a 5 star no doubt! I added red pepper flakes & it made it a 6 star! Been looking for a sauce that had no cream in it. THIS BE THE ONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is restraunt quality tasting!!! we have it often as this is my 10 year olds favorite thing to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I would have rated this a 5 but with my modifications I couldnt. I added a splash of half n half, a splash of chicken broth and extra wine. Also crumbled a few strips of bacon......yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
My husband doesn't like it when I make linguini and clam sauce but he LOVED this recipe. He kept saying it was really good. I also threw in some fresh steam clams... yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States