The Best Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I gave this 5 stars with my slight changes. I used 2 cans chopped and 2 cans minced clams. It gives a little more "tooth" to the sauce. I added about 1/2 cup of wine to the sauce and cooked it down. Before serving I added the pasta to the sauce .toss and add 1/4 C parmesan cheese. Rough chop some fresh parsley and add. Terrific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli stein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Used olive oil and fresh parsley and basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This recipe represents the basic framework for an exemplary linguine and clams with garlic white wine sauce. For enhancement, simply saute the onions and 6 cloves of garlic (or to taste) in 3 tablespoons of olive oil and then add the entire contents of 4(6.5 ounce) cans of chopped clams, including the juice to your skillet. Also add an additional 2 tablespoons of olive to the skillet. Do not add butter. Then add one cup of white wine (or more) and two to three tablespoons of Italian seasoning. Simmer for twenty minutes or until the sauce is reduced and the seasonings have flavored the sauce. While the sauce is simmering, steam a couple of broccoli crowns till tender. Also dice two large fresh tomatoes. Chop one quarter cup fresh parsley. Add the broccoli and parsley to the sauce during the last three minutes of cooking the sauce. Spoon the sauce over the linguine and add the chopped fresh tomatoes. As an option, sprinkle some red pepper flakes and/or grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Fantastic! I only used 3 cans of clams which worked out just fine. I also did not add the clams to the sauce until I had about 8 minutes left. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly - oh and I added some parsley at the end. With garlic bread & a salad - this was a fabulous Sunday dinner! Really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Wonderful! Husband really loved it too. My picky 4 year old said "yum!" I used 6 big cloves of garlic and should've used more but it was still delicious. Only used about 1/4 cup of butter, added a can of mushrooms after sauteing the onions, added red pepper flakes and a little more clam juice. Used half minced and half chopped clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Yum! Everyone loved it. I omitted the wine and added a little parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was really excellent. I made it for a dinner guest and got rave reviews!! The only thing I added was some crushed red pepper and a splash of heavy cream. I'm sure it's equally good without these things but my husband insisted. I will certainly be making this again and I'm sure it will be requested. I served this with the white wine I used in the recipe, some garlic bread, and parmesan baked tomatoes instead of a standard salad. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Loved it. I added Italian herbs and a little half and half. Perfect. Well, a bit more wine than they said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
the basic recipe is good, but if you love whits clam sauce, quit messing around with minced clams. Try baby whole clams in the can and wow everyone with a few clams in the shell on top. Just add the clams in the shell to the sauce @ 3-4 min until the shells open( do covered). I also add crushed red pepper to the oil for @ 1 min while the garlic is cooking Yummo !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was fantastic! I made as written with the exception of increasing the wine to about 1/2 cup and adding a dash or two of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States