The Best Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
EXCELLENT! easy, quick and very flavorful. I followed advice of others and cut down on the butter and I used a flavored olive oil (basil); I used more wine (maybe a 1/3-1/2 cup) and the red pepper flakes really sealed it. Will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Incredible! I added mushrooms as was suggested in some of the other reviews and I waited until the end to add the clams and simmered them for just about 1-2 minutes, I didn't want chewy clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This recipe was soooo YUMMY! I confess to not being the best cook, but this dinner was the best clam sauce I had ever tasted! I reduced the unsalted butter to 1/3 cup, added 2.5 cans of clam juice (out of the 4 cans of clams) instead of the requested 2 cans of juice, used marsala wine instead of the requested dry white wine, put in about 1/2 tsp each of salt and pepper, put in a little extra garlic (I was using "ready to use" minced garlic)and used small shell pasta (all we had left) instead if linguine. I simmered the sauce on medium electric heat until the sauce was about 1/3-1/4 left, making it a nice consistency (about 20 minutes). I also served the dinner tossed in decorative bowls instead of plates to allow the sauce to soak into the shell pasta while eating. This dinner will be repeated in the near future! Hope these suggestions help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and it's one of our favorites! Here's my changes: chopped clams instead of minced (2 cans), 1/4 cup butter, no additional salt and a sprikle of parsley on top when served. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This sauce is almost as good as restaraunt sauce. I found it is best to increase the wine and garlic and decrease the butter. I also added fresh basil--that really jazzed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I come from a long line of Italians and they all claim to have the "best" clam sauce ever, but puts theirs to shame!! I make this a lot for company and they all go crazy over it! The great thing about it is it's soooooo simple to make; a novice could make it and look like a pro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I felt that this was not what I would consider restaurant quality. The flavor was ok, a little on the bland side. White clam sauce is one of my favorite dishes, but something was missing from this recipe. If I decide to give it another try, I would definately add fresh basil, parsley and some dried red pepper flakes to spice up the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This lives up to its name!! I did modify it only slightly. I used whole baby clams which I added in for the last 4 minutes of cooking, they will be extremely tough after id you cook them the whole 20 minutes. I did drain half the juice as directed & ended up grabbing a bottle of clam juice & using half of it, next time I simply will reserve all the liquid. I didnt have white wine, so I used cooking sherry. Red wine vinegar will also work just as well for an emergency white wine substitution. Finally I used thin linguine & topped with asiago (which is a much better choice than parmesan for a dish like this). This was outstanding a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This really was the best clam sauce I ever had, even better than what I would get from the expensive seafood restaurant thats in my town! All I added was some fresh Parsley and a pinch of red pepper flakes, a teaspoon of lemon juice, and used 2 cans of chopped clams. Another great addition is Scott Ures Clams and Garlic with it (I also added the juice from that into the sauce). My husband who cant stand Linguini ate practically the whole pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I would have rated this a 5 but with my modifications I couldnt. I added a splash of half n half, a splash of chicken broth and extra wine. Also crumbled a few strips of bacon......yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States