The Best Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Definitely the best clam sauce. It was a bit salty but my hubby said he liked it like that better. He finished it all and kept fighting me over the left over. He said it was better than Amici's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Was good but not "knock your socks off" amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
The only thing I added to this was red pepper flakes. It's so good that I don't order white wine clam sauce at restaurants anymore. They never live up to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Excellent dish, better than restaurant pasta and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Used 2 cans clams with all of their juice. Used at least half cup of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This lives up to its name!! I did modify it only slightly. I used whole baby clams which I added in for the last 4 minutes of cooking, they will be extremely tough after id you cook them the whole 20 minutes. I did drain half the juice as directed & ended up grabbing a bottle of clam juice & using half of it, next time I simply will reserve all the liquid. I didnt have white wine, so I used cooking sherry. Red wine vinegar will also work just as well for an emergency white wine substitution. Finally I used thin linguine & topped with asiago (which is a much better choice than parmesan for a dish like this). This was outstanding a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars b/c I thought that it was absolutely delicious. My husband is not a big fan of seafood, though, and didn't like it. He said that there were too many clams in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This basic recipe is VERY GOOD. As many other have noted, it is a great and very safe place to begin. My modifications include: Using at least 50% Boiled Baby Clams as opposed to the minced or chopped clams. Fresh is perfectly OK too. I hold the clam 'meat' until near the end as it can become tough if cooked beyond warming. Many folks suggests some pepper flakes and I too use them, but this is a very personal thing! As a whole, the basic recipe needs more FLAVOR so I often add SMALL AMOUNTS of an herb or two - do not over do it! THis is CLAM SAUSE not (whatever herb). Reducing the butter is OK but some volume adjustment is necessary, just to have enough sauce. More wine, with reduction is one optioin. For those who won't use wine a little chicen broth is OK - if necessary. I generally use more garlic but that too is a persoinal taste thing. Reducing the sauce from "Broth+With" to a real "Sauce" is probably the most important part. If it is not reduced to a thicker state, it will not stick to the pasta - which is why we have Sauce in the first place. A great starter recipe and similar to my basic - for years. Thanks to the young woman (and her Mom) for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This recipe was a great starting point. I added some white pepper, red pepper flakes, and some oregano and basil. I also cut down on the butter as others suggested. But, make sure you make less noodles if you cut down on the butter brecause you'll have less sauce. I used little neck clams instead of canned ones and they tasted amazing when I let them steam in the sauce. This recipe is super easy and tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
The BEST we've ever made! And DH is from the East coast and loves to order this when we eat out, now I can make it! Made the recipe without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States