The Best Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This lives up to its name!! I did modify it only slightly. I used whole baby clams which I added in for the last 4 minutes of cooking, they will be extremely tough after id you cook them the whole 20 minutes. I did drain half the juice as directed & ended up grabbing a bottle of clam juice & using half of it, next time I simply will reserve all the liquid. I didnt have white wine, so I used cooking sherry. Red wine vinegar will also work just as well for an emergency white wine substitution. Finally I used thin linguine & topped with asiago (which is a much better choice than parmesan for a dish like this). This was outstanding a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars b/c I thought that it was absolutely delicious. My husband is not a big fan of seafood, though, and didn't like it. He said that there were too many clams in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This basic recipe is VERY GOOD. As many other have noted, it is a great and very safe place to begin. My modifications include: Using at least 50% Boiled Baby Clams as opposed to the minced or chopped clams. Fresh is perfectly OK too. I hold the clam 'meat' until near the end as it can become tough if cooked beyond warming. Many folks suggests some pepper flakes and I too use them, but this is a very personal thing! As a whole, the basic recipe needs more FLAVOR so I often add SMALL AMOUNTS of an herb or two - do not over do it! THis is CLAM SAUSE not (whatever herb). Reducing the butter is OK but some volume adjustment is necessary, just to have enough sauce. More wine, with reduction is one optioin. For those who won't use wine a little chicen broth is OK - if necessary. I generally use more garlic but that too is a persoinal taste thing. Reducing the sauce from "Broth+With" to a real "Sauce" is probably the most important part. If it is not reduced to a thicker state, it will not stick to the pasta - which is why we have Sauce in the first place. A great starter recipe and similar to my basic - for years. Thanks to the young woman (and her Mom) for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This recipe was a great starting point. I added some white pepper, red pepper flakes, and some oregano and basil. I also cut down on the butter as others suggested. But, make sure you make less noodles if you cut down on the butter brecause you'll have less sauce. I used little neck clams instead of canned ones and they tasted amazing when I let them steam in the sauce. This recipe is super easy and tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
The BEST we've ever made! And DH is from the East coast and loves to order this when we eat out, now I can make it! Made the recipe without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this for dinner and my husband and our guest thought the pasta was okay. I am really rating this a 3.5/5. It tasted pretty bland, even with the addition of pepper flakes and more wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This recipe is pretty good, but not great. I think it needed a lot more wine for more flavor. Half the butter and lots of fresh chopped parsley would make it a lot better. Next time I'll try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I enjoyed this and it is a great quick meal. I used three cans of clams (were on sale 3 for $5). Also added half an onion, chopped, some Old Bay, and some red pepper flakes. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was my first time making a clam sauce and my guy and I who are small eaters ate close to all of it! Really good! I used chopped clams instead of minced, I added 6-8 quartered mushrooms and didn't add the clams or mushrooms until the last few minutes. And of course lots of red pepper flakes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Very good, but it needs more seasoning...like basil for instance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States