The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This cake is awesome! Super moist! Super easy! Super chocolatety! I did change the frosting a bit. I doubled the milk and cocoa powder, cut the powdered sugar to 3 cups and added 1 c. coconut flakes and 2/3 c. almond slivers. Delicious! It was sweet enough with the decreased amount of powdered sugar and the extra milk made it soak into the cake more. Sooooooo goooood! I might just go have another piece right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmecky78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Very moist and made 24 nicely shaped cupcakes, but I'm not sure I love the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I have made this chocolate cake several times and everyone loves it!! I will never make chocolate cake from a box again. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is a great recipe. Everyone loved it. I made it in a bundt pan, doubled the cooking time. Looked beautiful with the glaze poured over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
The cake itself was wonderful! I followed the advice of others and only used half of the cinnamon. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I substituted just under 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 T of lemon juice. I mixed it together and let it stand for 5 minutes. It worked great! I rated it a 3 since I didn't like the icing. It was difficult to work with and very rich. I would make the cake again but using a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I don't often bake, but it was my moms 83rd birthday and she LOVES chocolate cake, so I gave this a shot. This was a HUGE hit with the whole family! I've never received so many compliments...even from my brother-in-law who has nothing nice to say to me! This is not an easy recipe, but it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbee Valentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This recipe is ABSOLUTELY STUNNING. I followed the recipe exactly, however I do not know how it keeps as it never lasts long. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
The Name says it all! This is definitely the best chocolate cake I ever ate in my life!! The only changes I made were in changing the cinammon to black pepper. This cake is truly addictive! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Creston, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
great recipe, loved the soft texture of the cake, and how quick it bakes. about the frosting, it is very easy to use and gives a clean finish for a neat looking cake, by using a spatula. taste wise i followed the other reviewers' advise in using less suger and making half the amount. this made the quantity and sweetness just perfect for me. i also did the trick of making holes on top of the cake using a tooth pick, so the frosting could sink in the cake. this gave a tasty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hessa A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States