The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was DELICIOUS! I also made it as a layer cake, and it just looked divinely gooey and chocolatey -- it was a real show-stopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomi Ann Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I don't want to mess up the ratings for this because I didn't cook in a 9x13 as directed... however I wanted to give a review from the cupcake perspective. This cake has a great taste...it's a pretty thick batter and makes dense cupcakes. The only thing that frustrated me was they got really crispy on the outside before they were fully cooked inside. I kind of liked the "crust", but I imagine some people would want a softer cake. Topped with a blackberry buttercream! Great flavor combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I really appreciate reviews on recipes and always read several before making a recipe. This recipe rated very high in Like reviews however, after following the recipe exactly,I found the cinnamon ruined the flavor of this cake The density of the cake was great however, I will not place the cinnamon in the cake the next time I make the recipe. This morning I am still searching for a moist chocolately rich cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Used less than half the cinnamon recommended and twice the chocolate and it still came out tasting like cinnamon bread. Not even cake. Bread. :( Could hardly even taste the chocolate. I doubt I'll ever make this again but if I do I will probably leave the cinnamon out entirely and add chocolate chips or something. Very disappointing. Left a bad taste in my mouth, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I'm 27 weeks pregnant. Baby and I decided I needed some chocolate cake to go with my glass of milk. Found this recipe, loved how it didn't call for much time in the kitchen and that I had all the ingredients, sans pecans-- was already a hit in my books. Was super simple to make, and this type of frosting is one of my faves (total sweet tooth). I took the advice of other reviews and used a skewer to poke holes in the cake before I poured the icing over, WONDERFUL IDEA!! I followed the recipe exactly (except used "sour milk instead of real buttermilk) and do have to agree, with some other reviews, that it is a bit heavy on the cinnamon. Yet, its still a good flavor combo, that warm spicy feeling, great w a cup-o-jo. I did give a 5 star instead of 4 because of this, though. I do think the cinnamon aids in relaxing the richness cakes like these tend to have, I was able to eat the whole piece and down my glass of milk, with ease (and joy). Over all, LOVE this, will most definitely be making this again, but with 1/2 tsp cinn instead-- 4.5 stars :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmanansteel
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
this is a great cake the taste is great to. I would not change anything on this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Didn't have buttermilk, so used sour cream, a bit of milk and a tiny bit of lemon juice. I think just sour cream would have worked just fine though. Followed the rest exactly. It did take a looot longer to bake though. Delicious moist cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Note: I only made the cake, not the frosting. The cake was so tasty!!! The batter didn't bake up very high, but that is ok. When I over filled the pan, it looked a little deflated, but when I filled it correctly, it was perfect. I made some peanut butter icing and made the batter into cupcakes, it was a huge hit! I also filled some with a rasberry jam icing, and made a choco-pb&j cupcakes. They were very popular at my boyfriend's birthday. I already have been asked to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was a wonderful basic recipe. I modified it quite a bit in order to give it a 5. The chocolate really needed to kicked up to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States