The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This cake was delicious, and I tweaked it like others have mentioned by adding coffee instead of water. One change, the baking time was off by quite a bit in my oven. After the 20 minutes suggested, my cake was still very raw in the center so I added 10 more minutes, checking doneness at each 5 minute mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Sorry, just not a fan of this one .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I haven't made this yet but when I do, I will put coffee in instead of water, it will enhance the flavor! I'll post an update after I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was one tasty chocolate cake. Everybody liked it a lot. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I found this recipe a couple of years ago for my daughter-in-law's birthday, as she loves chocolate and she has requested it every year. Also make it for office parties, everyone loves the frosting. Very easy and easy steps to follow, did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I really enjoyed the texture and flavor of this cake. It could use a little more chocolate. I left out the cinnamon but it was still good. If I could give half stars I would give it a 4.5. I love the fact that a blender isn't needed so it gets extra for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SF2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This cake was wonderful! I did make a few slight moderations to the ingredients. I used an extra 1/4 cup of cocoa powder an extra 1/2 cup of buttermilk (which I added to the hot ingredients, as well as the eggs) I used self rising flour, Left out the salt, Used a pack of cook and serve chocolate pudding, Forgot to add vegetable oil, And used a bundt pan instead of a flat one. Apart from that I followed the recipe to the letter! It's absolutely delicious, especially with melted chocolate and crushed nuts on top of it! (Well it IS Christmas after all!) Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Mine turned out alright. Good flavor (I did NOT add the cinnamon). Wasn't my favorite texture. I did not use the frosting. Made cream-cheese frosting, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llaunna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
After my changes, I definitely would make this a 5 star recipe. WAY delicious, but also deadly rich. my notes/changes: next time, cut back on the cinnamon, it is too strong. I used cream (melted ice cream, lol) instead of milk in both the cake and the icing. For the buttermilk, I used 1/2 cream and 1/2 milk and added vinegar and let it sit while the chocolate boiled. instead of cocoa powder/bittersweet chocolate, I used a bar of Lindt 90% dark chocolate. I used about a 3/4 of a bar on the cake and 1/2 on the icing. i also substituted butter for the vegetable oil, but only really because i didn't have any oil. instead of 1 cup of water, I used 1/2 cup of water (next time i will use milk), and 1/2 cup of rum/creme de cocoa (half and half each). Also, for the icing instead of confectioner's sugar, i stirred in about a cup of and a half of brown sugar. came out great. once the cake came out of the oven, i poked it all over with a toothpick before pouring the icing on. great out of the oven, and i am going to try freezing it. it was delicious! one of the richest, most chocolatiest cakes ever! (better be, for 2 1/2 sticks of butter, a cup of ice cream, over 3 cups of sugar, and a bar of chocolate!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
My grandmother had this recipe and she began making this cake in the 1920's. This has been a favorite in our Texas family all these years--my personal favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbarnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States