The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is a great and simple cake, really easy for beginners and when you need something FAST (mine was done and iced in 30 minutes), and it has a great chocolate flavour, but it suffers just a bit in the texture department. I found this one was dense and just a bit dry, though I followed the recipe exactly. I'd reserve this recipe for a quick cake on a weeknight or for kids' parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe. Just like some of the other negative remarks, I found the cake to hardly taste like chocolate, and I like mild chocolate. The frosting was horrible, too. All my ingredients were fresh and I made no mistakes. A mystery to me as to why it comes out great for some people. I also found that it had to cook over 20 minutes; I even left it in the oven for 5 extra mins with the heat off in an effort to not overcook it. It rose fine, but the taste...well, it had none. I'm sorry! I really wanted to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
The texture was amazing, but the cake tasted too much like cinnamon. I would double or triple the coco and just get rid of the cinnamon in general. I put a pinch of cinnamon in the cake and it was still over powering. No chocolate flavor either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marieclaire0924
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I have made this recipe twice so far, once as a sheet cake and once as a double layer round cake. Awesome recipe, the only thing I did differently was omit the cinnamon and instead of using one cup water, I used 1 cup coffee. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
The only recipe I'll use from now on! Everyone loved it - the cake is SO moist and the thick icing is almost like fudge. I think a bit less icing sugar and a bit more cocoa for the icing is best, especially if you like a dark chocolate taste rather than a very sweet icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I just finished making this cake and the cake turned out perfect... The icing turned out rather thick. Next time I will add the icing sugar one cup at a time, and see if I just used too much all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Not much chocolate taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My friends mom would make this back in high school & I fell in love with it but I never managed to get the recipe. So I totally freaked out (in the best kind of way) when I tried out this recipe and it was THAT cake! Thank you so much for sharing this :) I did tweak it slightly as suggested by other reviewers. For the batter I left out the cinnamon completely, substituted milk & vinegar for the buttermilk as I did not have any on hand, increased the cocoa to 1 cup, & baked it in a 9" x 9" pan. For the icing I left out the pecans & used only 2 cups confectioners sugar which still turned out plenty sweet. Took 30 mins to bake. I have to admit I was pretty skeptical at first, but dove in anyway & gave it a go. Super chuffed that I did! I love that you don't need to use a cake mixer for this. Plus the tip on poking holes in the cake & pouring the icing on while still hot was right on point! So moist! My family loved this so much and devoured it in record time! Will be making this again this weekend for my little sisters girls day in (she begged me to bake this for her!) Quick and easy and so delicious! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAmMinion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is literally and unequivocally the best cake I have ever had in my life. I made it for my boyfriend's birthday and I'm pretty sure he fell in love with me right then. (He also ate the whole cake in two days, and he's a skinny guy). I've made this cake three or four times. I always take one reviewer's advice and substitute another stick of butter for the oil, and I usually skip the pecans. Sometimes I don't make the frosting by hand, either- shhh, don't tell anyone I use store-bought frosting! I also substitute an equal amount of plain yogurt for the buttermilk- either ingredient is the secret, I think. It keeps the cake super moist and rich for days, almost like pudding. I found that one trick is to watch it closely while baking and cook it "halfway"- most of the bottom and the sides should be fairly solid, like a normal cake, and the inside should be softer, a bit more liquid and a slightly different color. Then it's almost like two cakes in one. I recently discovered that I'm sensitive to gluten, but even if I can't make a gluten-free version of this cake work I'm not going to stop making it, if only for other people. It's just so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever made. It is light and fluffy, just like cake mix. I made two round layers and used my own icing instead of the icing recipe provided. Yummm, definitely making it into the recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States