The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I was VERY disappointed in this cake. I am searching for the best ever and this is NOT it. I will say this, it is very easy to make and the frosting is delicious. When I find the best cake I may put this frosting on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and added a little extra cocoa and kept the same amount of cinnamon. Outstanding! Moist and full of chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is the first time I am giving any recipe five stars. I make this as a round layered cake at every special occasion. Must cool cakes completely in the pans before turning out. I follow the other user's idea and pile the two layers directly on top of each other, then use chop sticks to punch lots of holes all over the cake before pouring on the hot icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elithia
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is my favorite cake recipe ever and the one I make most often! I have not tried making the icing in this recipe. I usually just cover it with chocolate ganache. I whip a little of the cooled ganache and use it as my icing between the two layers of cake and I poor the rest over the top and sides. It works great as cupcakes too! I have tried replacing the oil with more butter but I can't really tell the difference in the taste when I do, so I tend to stick with the oil since it's a little healthier. Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
YUMMY!!! The cake tasted delicious, but I had two mishaps that were most likely my fault...(1) I thought it would be prettier to bake in a bundt pan instead of a 9x13 and it took much longer to finish PLUS it didn't come out smoothly and broke up when I flipped it onto the cake plate; and (2) I was in the process of making the frosting when I realized the recipe called for 4 cups of confectioners sugar and I only had 2 cups. I tried to halve the recipe figuring I would just have less frosting, but when I halved the frosting ingredients it was so pasty I could barely stir it and pouring was never going to happen. I ended up using the recipe recommended amounts for all but the sugar and it was pourable. The cake tasted delicious, but was not fit to serve company due to the presentation factor. I think next time I will do the frosting the same way, but let the cake cool a bit before taking it from the pan. Otherwise, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I was so hopeful of this recipe. At 20 minutes it could still have been poured out of the pan. The icing turned out as a lump. I keep reading the recipe to see what I may have done wrong. It may have been me... just don't know what I did wrong. My icing was like a lump; there was no pouring it. Hmmm. Sorry! Glad everyone else loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Baked for 32 minutes in a 9x13 and came out perfectly. I used sour cream in substitute for buttermilk. It will be swollen when it first comes out of the oven but within 10 minutes will settle nicely , no cracks and no dip! Perfect to frost right in the dish as backup cake for birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is a great and simple cake, really easy for beginners and when you need something FAST (mine was done and iced in 30 minutes), and it has a great chocolate flavour, but it suffers just a bit in the texture department. I found this one was dense and just a bit dry, though I followed the recipe exactly. I'd reserve this recipe for a quick cake on a weeknight or for kids' parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe. Just like some of the other negative remarks, I found the cake to hardly taste like chocolate, and I like mild chocolate. The frosting was horrible, too. All my ingredients were fresh and I made no mistakes. A mystery to me as to why it comes out great for some people. I also found that it had to cook over 20 minutes; I even left it in the oven for 5 extra mins with the heat off in an effort to not overcook it. It rose fine, but the taste...well, it had none. I'm sorry! I really wanted to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
The texture was amazing, but the cake tasted too much like cinnamon. I would double or triple the coco and just get rid of the cinnamon in general. I put a pinch of cinnamon in the cake and it was still over powering. No chocolate flavor either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States