The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This cake was good but not great even tho I cut the cinnamon down to 1/4 tsp it was still to much...also the time on this is wrong needs to cook for 30 min instead of 20. To me it wasn't a very moist cake. Definantly not my fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is seriously the best chocolate cake EVER. Followed the recipe exactly, but cut the cinnamon in half, and used 9in round cake plans. The icing was a little tricky this way, but turned out so amazing!! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was an unexpected hit. It's incredible to me just how much chocolate flavor there was in this cake given the small amount of cocoa powder in it. It is also incredible how moist and fresh tasting it was, given I made it three days ago and first cut into it tonight! I loved that it called for both butter, for unbeatable flavor, and shortening, for guaranteed moistness. I didn't include the cinnamon simply because it didn't appeal to me and that was a good call for my taste buds. As for the frosting, it is a fudgy, brownie-type frosting that pours easily and stays soft (even three days later).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I was VERY disappointed in this cake. I am searching for the best ever and this is NOT it. I will say this, it is very easy to make and the frosting is delicious. When I find the best cake I may put this frosting on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and added a little extra cocoa and kept the same amount of cinnamon. Outstanding! Moist and full of chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is the first time I am giving any recipe five stars. I make this as a round layered cake at every special occasion. Must cool cakes completely in the pans before turning out. I follow the other user's idea and pile the two layers directly on top of each other, then use chop sticks to punch lots of holes all over the cake before pouring on the hot icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elithia
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is my favorite cake recipe ever and the one I make most often! I have not tried making the icing in this recipe. I usually just cover it with chocolate ganache. I whip a little of the cooled ganache and use it as my icing between the two layers of cake and I poor the rest over the top and sides. It works great as cupcakes too! I have tried replacing the oil with more butter but I can't really tell the difference in the taste when I do, so I tend to stick with the oil since it's a little healthier. Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
YUMMY!!! The cake tasted delicious, but I had two mishaps that were most likely my fault...(1) I thought it would be prettier to bake in a bundt pan instead of a 9x13 and it took much longer to finish PLUS it didn't come out smoothly and broke up when I flipped it onto the cake plate; and (2) I was in the process of making the frosting when I realized the recipe called for 4 cups of confectioners sugar and I only had 2 cups. I tried to halve the recipe figuring I would just have less frosting, but when I halved the frosting ingredients it was so pasty I could barely stir it and pouring was never going to happen. I ended up using the recipe recommended amounts for all but the sugar and it was pourable. The cake tasted delicious, but was not fit to serve company due to the presentation factor. I think next time I will do the frosting the same way, but let the cake cool a bit before taking it from the pan. Otherwise, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I was so hopeful of this recipe. At 20 minutes it could still have been poured out of the pan. The icing turned out as a lump. I keep reading the recipe to see what I may have done wrong. It may have been me... just don't know what I did wrong. My icing was like a lump; there was no pouring it. Hmmm. Sorry! Glad everyone else loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Baked for 32 minutes in a 9x13 and came out perfectly. I used sour cream in substitute for buttermilk. It will be swollen when it first comes out of the oven but within 10 minutes will settle nicely , no cracks and no dip! Perfect to frost right in the dish as backup cake for birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States