The Best Chicken Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is the best recipe for Chicken Soup I have ever tried. I have done a lot of chicken soups but never found them to have enough flavour. My Grandmother taught me how to make chicken soup, but this is amazing..I make it all the time and everyone loves it. I was visiting my home town and friend ended up with a bad cold, well chicken soup to the rescue, he could not believe how this soup tasted...top quality...better than you would get at any restaurant. I do change the noodle to an egg noodle that is fine or alphabet ones, but whatever makes you smile is what I make it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very good but too much work for what u got
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Love this recipe! Makes a lot...I substituted barley for the noodles. Perfect for freezing and pulling out for an easy dinner later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Oh My God! Best chicken soup I've ever made! The noodle soup mix definitely gives it more dimension. Here were my changes: I Googled poultry seasoning as I did not have it on hand, was able to make it from scratch with various spices. Also used a rotissertie chicken from the store and 10 cups of chicken broth. Only 1 onion. Thank you Carrie K.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlemisscook
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This really is the best chicken soup! I followed this recipe almost to the T, I had a 3 1/2 chicken, only used 1/4 of a onion and no peppercorns, used 1/4 tsp pepper instead. The directions confused me because I wasn't sure how much water to use but I followed as directed and just covered the chicken. it turned out perfect. I noticed that others used chicken breast because they didn't like dark meat. I don't recommended using just the breast. There is much more flavor when you use a whole chicken. Plus if you use a slightly larger chicken you can get more white meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemisscook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
We made this recipe pretty much as-is, and it was fantastic. The only thing I might suggest as a change is to not put the pasta in during cooking, as this reduced the amount of broth significantly, and after a night in the fridge, the leftover soup had almost no liquid left. For our next prep, we'll cook the noodles separately, and add them per bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
THAT WAS GOOD! I had 2 large skinless chicken breasts and 2 thighs with skin in the fridge and decided to make this. I'm thinking that using an entire chicken probably would have given the broth more flavor, but this worked. Put the chicken in a soup pot and added cold water so that the chicken was immersed with about an inch or so of water over the chicken (figured it would boil off). Boiled the chicken for about 30 minutes. Used tongs and a meat thermometer to make sure the chicken was done (I'm a total novice). Put the chicken aside to cool and left the stock liquid in the pot. Basically followed #2 after that...added some peppercorns thyme and parsley without measuring..just a bit of each. Also added some salt..probably 2 tbsp. Did not add poultry seasoning or basil or bay leaves 'cause I didn't have them. The soup mix I used was Shore Lunch Chicken Soup mix that my wife bought at Whole Foods (I think). Once the vegies were about done (prob 30 more minutes), I added the chicken back and 1/2 box of Barilla Farfale noodles (the soup mix had noodles, but not enough). Let it simmer till the noodles were done..thats it..tasty and delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
My sister said this was "as good" as our Mothers chicken soup..but we won't tell Mom! (wink wink): Followed closely although didn't add the chicken noodle soup mix as I wanted to keep it au natural: natural stock and broth were enough chicken flavor....used wide egg noodles instead of bow-ties, and chopped fresh carrots instead of babies. Simply wonderful...even better second and third days!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leogirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I concur! This is the best chicken soup ever! I've also made it with barley instead of bow tie pasta and it was just as tasty. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
great ideas for amazing soup. I used all natural chicken broth only no beef bouillon, no noodle soup mix. I used whole wheat egg noodles and added diced red potato and garlic. I always cook my noodles seperately then add at the last minute as they will soak up the good broth. Mmmmm! Gave it 4 stars just cuz I made it my own. Make it yours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States