The Best Chicken Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Excellent starter. I added additional two cans of chicken broth. Used about a cup of the liquid that I cooked the chicken in with a crumbled chicken bouillon. Shredded chicken and added a box of frozen peas to the soup. Instead of farfalle I used a cup of try ACINI DI PEPE a very tiny pasta to the last 15 minutes of simmering. THAT'S WHY I NEED THE EXTRA LIQUID.. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I hate to say anything negative about this recipe, I really loved it... BUT it needs a bit of revision! I was going to use the entire 1 pound of baby carrots, but when I started adding them, realized I would wind up with carrot soup with chicken. Amount of carrots needed to be cut WAY back. I used 1/2 and it was still way too much. I wound up scooping lots out after cooking. (And I do like carrots!) Also needs lots more liquid. This boiled down too much. Added almost a quart more broth and water. Needs more liquid, way fewer carrots. I loved the flavor. And don't add any salt!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Despite being married and having three children, I never made chicken soup before. I hadn't even so much as bought a whole chicken. But the kids were sick, and with stroke of genious, it hit...Aha! Make chicken soup! So, off to store we go, sick, crabby, "I don't want to ride in the cart" 2 year old and the baby, secure in the sling. I look for and find some chickens. They look smaller than I thought. I look through all 50 of them, looking for the biggest one. They are all about 3 pounds. So I ask an employee where the regular sizd chickens are, you know, the turkey-sized ones. Well, chickens, as it turns out, are not as big as turkeys, and the employee laughs. Ok, so now I have chicken, and I leave store. I call grandma on the way, asking what to do with it. She tells me to clean it. Ummm....how? She tells me, and I respond, "I stick my hand up WHAT???" That's not somewhere I'd like to touch. Grams reminds me its just a chicken, I can wash my hands later. Ok, big breath. I can do it. I clean and cook chicken. I cool it, bone it (ick) and then make soup. Now, to rate this recipe....its great! I've gotten over my fear of whole chickens, and I'll make it again! I did add garlic, peas, and spinach to boost the nutritional value. I didn't add the chicken soup mix, wanting it to be natural as possible. All in all, great recipe. Thanks for sharing it and helping me get over the hurdle of whole chickens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Dunbar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
All the flavors were wonderful... The only exception was we took out the chicken soup mix... It definitely didnt need it!!! It reminded me of the homemade soup my mother and grandmother made when we were kids and sick... next time i may add spinach for just a little bit more vegetable.. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
The name of this soup is true - it's the best! My family and I love it. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda  & Chuck Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I think my big mistake with this was to not take the skin off the chicken before boiling it; made for a lot of fat but my mistake. My only other suggestion might be to add the vegetables a little later as they seem kind of overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
All hail the best chicken soup ever! I made a few additions... I used all fresh herbs, and added fresh dill, (a few small sprigs. Also, Shitake Mushrooms are a fantastic addition. This was the PERFECT cure for my boyfriends stomach flu and some very satisfying helpings for me. REALLY looking forward to making this one again. It will become a regular recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
My husband was up all night very ill with a stomach virus. Since he was still a bit queasy, I wanted to make him a healthy chicken soup. This fit the bill. I followed the recipe exactly, with the only exceptions being following other reviewers tips and adding a bit of garlic and spinach. He and I just finished eating it. It really is a delicious soup, although I am glad it makes plenty because I feel sure it will taste better the next day. The only ingredient I wasn't crazy about in this soup was the addition of the chicken noodle soup mix, it seemed I could taste it in every bite. But that is a personal thing because a few years ago I lost 110 pounds and I ate a lot of that stuff, so it is not a taste I like to relive!! Though I didn't really love this soup as I had hoped, it was something I felt really good about serving to my sick hubby. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This is an excellent chicken soup recipe. I always get asked for the recipe. My family isn't crazy about pasta so I put in more veggies. Sometimes I prefer a more "sagey" flavor, so I double the poultry seasoning. Thanks for sharing,Carrie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This chicken soup is fantastic--but it turns out more like a stew than a soup. I make it for my husband every time he's sick, usually while he's sleeping, and the aromas from the kitchen waft into the bedroom and wake him with a smile on his face. It's definitely enough soup to feed a family of two for an entire week, and you won't want to stop eating it! Fantastic recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States