The Best Chicken Salad Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good! I saved and will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saracheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe loads of times and everyone loves it. I love how dead-easy it is to make. The coleslaw dressing really is a great secret ingredient for making it taste like it has a lot of fancy ingredients in it when it doesn't. (I would like to point out that 1/4 cup and 4 TBSP is the same amount, so you don't need to dirty up two measuring devices for your dressings!) I do puree it all in my food processor -- not how I was accustomed to eating chicken salad but I actually love it that way now. It holds together on the bread and you don't have chunks of chicken falling out on your lap. I frequently make this along with homemade rolls to give as a gift to friends who are sick/have just had a baby/etc . I make it with scallions when I make it for my family, but it does turn the puree rather green, so I make it with regular onion when I give it as a gift. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I usually cannot stand my own chicken salad - there is always this weird, mayo taste I can't stand. But THIS!? Oooh-WOW! Very excited to make it for more than just the immediate family. Great recipe! Processed it in the Ninja - still can see small onion and celery chunks. I, like many reviewers, was skeptical. I like chicken salad to have a little sweetness so I thought about adding some apples or grapes - but I'm so glad I didn't. The slaw dressing adds just enough sweetness. I used shredded rotisserie chicken from the store - (already cooked and ready to go!) Thank you, so much, for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I am not sure on this yet. I think the way you prepare the chicken and the brand of cole slaw dressing make a big difference in this. I boiled/poached some chicken breasts to make this, so there was not much flavor to my chicken. I used regular marzetti's coleslaw dressing. Although this was a decent chicken salad, there wasn't much flavor beyond the expected onion/celery flavor. It seemed kind of ordinary to me. I will try a couple of things next time. First, I will cook my chicken with some salt and maybe a bay leaf to give some extra flavor to the chicken. Next, I will try another coleslaw dressing or maybe add a little more for more oomph. Also, I really like cranberries in my chicken salad, so I will add a handful to give a little extra sweetness. Overall, it was a very basic chicken salad, not much different than if you made with mayo and a little sugar like I usually do. *Update* I made this with diced grapes and increased the dressing and mayo to taste and I really liked it. 4 stars with my modifications, 3 stars without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Had all the stuff but the salad dressing. Substituted mayo, horseradish sauce and sweet pickle relish. YYUUUMMMM!! Blender on the fritz. Used the food chopper. Had to push away from the table it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This was a good recipe. It didn't "wow" me - it just seemed like all the other chicken salad recipes missing an "it" factor. I did use the low fat mayo and fat free slaw dressing. Perhaps the lack of fat is why I wasn't won over? I will make this again as it is easy, until I find "the" recipe that I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Wonderful flavor. The coleslaw dressing was a great addition adding a tangy sweetness. I boiled the chicken in chicken broth, (didn't use the food processor) added grapes and pecans used soft bread and everyone just loved. This is will be my go to chicken salad recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I had never considered my beautiful cuisinart processor for making chicken salad ! Great thing to do. But overprocessing results in a "paste" pretty quickly, so I used the pulse just enough to cut up all the chunks without overdoing it. I had a bunch of fresh parsley, some red and white onions, celery of course, the dressings you describe( miracle whip and Marzetti's) in generous proportions. Also used kosher salt and fresh ground pepper, dash of smoked paprika. I added in two hard boiled eggs, I really feel that added to the rich taste of the salad. After processing, added chopped ( by hand)green grapes and toasted pecans.Awesome !This is a good recipe that I felt needed enhancement to make it great and I succeeded in doing so. Thank you! It's so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
So good and so easy! Like others who have reviewed this recipe I won't bother buying chicken salad again. I used ranch for the creamy dressing and its wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
It really IS the best chicken salad ever! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States