The Best Chicken Salad Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Very good I used mayonnaise instead of coleslaw. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have been playing around with my chicken salad recipe for years. So, with a bit of skepticism, I tried this recipe. All I can say is...it WORKS! Absolutely delicious! I recommend that anybody who comes across this try it just once, you'll be hooked. No changes made at all, but I think I agree with the person who said the onion was just a tad much. I think next time I make it (and there will be a next time), I'll decrease the onion a little. Superb! Update: I made this recipe again, and used 1/2 tsp onion powder as opposed to the 1/4 onion. The overpowering onion taste was gone, and the powder added just enough flavor. Hubby LOVES this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Bee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have made this as written and it was really great and easy to do. I wasn't a fan of the texture though and that's why the 4 stars. The second time I made this, I used up some smoked chicken thighs/leg quarters. That smoky flavor took this recipe over the top. I processed half of the chicken after the celery/onion and then folded in the other half chicken that I shredded instead. This made for a much better consistency, I thought. I also used red instead of white onion and added a half can of sliced water chestnuts because I really like a crunch to any salad recipe. Thank you Richard for a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Changes that I made to this recipe were added 1 Tsp Celery Seed, 1/4 chopped red grapes, and 1/2 cup chopped apple. Next time I'll add fresh rosemary too. This is a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good! I saved and will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saracheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe loads of times and everyone loves it. I love how dead-easy it is to make. The coleslaw dressing really is a great secret ingredient for making it taste like it has a lot of fancy ingredients in it when it doesn't. (I would like to point out that 1/4 cup and 4 TBSP is the same amount, so you don't need to dirty up two measuring devices for your dressings!) I do puree it all in my food processor -- not how I was accustomed to eating chicken salad but I actually love it that way now. It holds together on the bread and you don't have chunks of chicken falling out on your lap. I frequently make this along with homemade rolls to give as a gift to friends who are sick/have just had a baby/etc . I make it with scallions when I make it for my family, but it does turn the puree rather green, so I make it with regular onion when I give it as a gift. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I usually cannot stand my own chicken salad - there is always this weird, mayo taste I can't stand. But THIS!? Oooh-WOW! Very excited to make it for more than just the immediate family. Great recipe! Processed it in the Ninja - still can see small onion and celery chunks. I, like many reviewers, was skeptical. I like chicken salad to have a little sweetness so I thought about adding some apples or grapes - but I'm so glad I didn't. The slaw dressing adds just enough sweetness. I used shredded rotisserie chicken from the store - (already cooked and ready to go!) Thank you, so much, for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I am not sure on this yet. I think the way you prepare the chicken and the brand of cole slaw dressing make a big difference in this. I boiled/poached some chicken breasts to make this, so there was not much flavor to my chicken. I used regular marzetti's coleslaw dressing. Although this was a decent chicken salad, there wasn't much flavor beyond the expected onion/celery flavor. It seemed kind of ordinary to me. I will try a couple of things next time. First, I will cook my chicken with some salt and maybe a bay leaf to give some extra flavor to the chicken. Next, I will try another coleslaw dressing or maybe add a little more for more oomph. Also, I really like cranberries in my chicken salad, so I will add a handful to give a little extra sweetness. Overall, it was a very basic chicken salad, not much different than if you made with mayo and a little sugar like I usually do. *Update* I made this with diced grapes and increased the dressing and mayo to taste and I really liked it. 4 stars with my modifications, 3 stars without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Had all the stuff but the salad dressing. Substituted mayo, horseradish sauce and sweet pickle relish. YYUUUMMMM!! Blender on the fritz. Used the food chopper. Had to push away from the table it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This was a good recipe. It didn't "wow" me - it just seemed like all the other chicken salad recipes missing an "it" factor. I did use the low fat mayo and fat free slaw dressing. Perhaps the lack of fat is why I wasn't won over? I will make this again as it is easy, until I find "the" recipe that I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States