The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kimber Mc
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight, and it was AWESOME! The coating on the steaks had wonderful flavor, and crisped up perfectly! I used fresh turkey cube steaks that I get from my local farmers market, and we didn't miss the beef at all. Other then stirring a little hot sauce into the gravy at the end, I followed the recipe as written. Served with mashed potatoes and applesauce, this is a new fave! Thank you for this great addition to my favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I have made Chicken Fried Steak for years and am always looking for the ultimate coating. I think I have found it in this recipe! I, sadly, didn't have all the ingredients, no buttermilk or hot sauce, but used whole milk and it worked just fine. Crisped up perfectly. My family raved that it is the best I have ever made and it was "almost as good as Cracker Barrel's." Hopefully with all the ingredients, it will surpass it next time. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziprose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was very good tasting all though i'm not sure if the cast iron skillet is a necessity as i cooked the steaks a lot longer in my conventional skillet...was quite a messy affair but was very yummy! Although i needed a lot more flour then the recipe called for as with the "double dipping" created a lot of clumped up flour that made sticking to the steak difficult, as the flour stuck to my fingers/forks alot. Not sure what to do to make that better...maybe freezing the steaks after dipping? But the recipe resulted in the taste i was looking for! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Yummm! I made the Chicken Fried Steak for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My middle son loves chicken fried steak and so do I. He came back for seconds with this recipe. I had to change it a little. Because I'm in the Denver area, frying can be a problem - things get overdone on the outside while undercooked inside. So as soon as the outsides were done, I put them in the oven like shake-and-bake for about 1/2 hour. Also, IMHO, a touch of garlic immensely improves country gravy, so I added garlic powder to the gravy. I also couldn't find uncultured buttermilk, but regular milk worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Truly the best chicken fried steak I've ever eaten. Chicken fried steak has always been a diner favorite of mine, but never cooked it at home. Followed the recipe exactly and was rewarded with a crispy, non-greasy, delicious coating on our cube steaks. I served it with collard greens and "irish champ" , an allrecipes recipe. Both my boyfriend and I loved it and will certainly serve it again. Thanks smylpurty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lakeffect

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This recipe was great. I will use it from now on. I added more seasonings to the buttermilk mixture because we like more flavor. I used the rest of the buttermilk to make buscuits from this site. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dlish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. My children tried it and they would not eat more than the required bite. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I gave this a 4-Star rating because of the use of the cube steak..and the ingredients..I read the other Chicken Fried Steak-recipes and thought that they were not as good(looking)..I tried to make this recipe from just hearing its title-name/and mine came out quite weird looking/will try this recipe..thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doePastaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was a FLOP!! It made my meat want to fall apart that I could barely get it turned over to the other side for it to cook. I think I will stick to just making my cubed steak with just breaded flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States