The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
My BF usually is known for his chicken fried steak. Well he had to work so I made it, never had made it before. This recipe was awesome,now I'm the one who is known for this dish. The only thing I did different was to add chicken broth to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karero99
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was a wonderful recipe for chicken fried steak. Flavors were amazing. I did not have shortening or buttermilk on hand, so I substituted canola oil and 2% milk. They worked out just fine. The steak is best cooked in the cast iron skillet as recommended in the recipe as it cooks evenly and you have no problems with the steak sticking to the pan as long as you do not cook on too high a heat. Thanks so much for this great recipe. Family loved it and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is a phenomenal recipe. I made it just as the recipe says but left out the Tabasco Sauce as my husband doesn't eat spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
The title says it all! I have eaten chicken fried steak since I was in the crib, have made my own, eaten my grandmas and dad's version and this hands down was my favorite. I'm thinking it's the egg wash with the baking powder, baking soda and buttermilk that made the difference. I did put a little paprika and cayenne pepper in the flour for a little extra flavoring. And be sure and let it sit for a while after the dipping to help the breading stay on. And if you don't cook in cast iron, go right out NOW and get you a good frying pan. I recommend Lodge brand, made in America!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I bought good quality cube steaks at a local butcher shop but these turned out so chewy that we could hardly eat them! I checked the steaks and didn't see any obvious gristle. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
A very good and tasty recipe. To boost flavor, instead of salt in the flour mix I use Morton Season All seasoned salt, and 2 tbs. A good way to make the flour to stick to the batter: instead of patting the flour onto the steak, press very firmly with your palm, rocking sideways and forward/back. I normally start with a good portion of the flour mix to the side. I put the battered steak in the main mix then pour the flour to the side over it then start pressing, then flip and repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Unfortunately I was not very impressed by this recipe. The steaks to me were bland. I followed the recipe exactly as it was. No trouble in making them. I do feel like it was a lot of work for just chicken fried steaks. Gravy was good but not impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I was nervous because I never tried chicken fried steak before but this recipe was so easy! Even the homemade gravy turned out perfectly! My husband can't stop talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ly Sanchez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
AMAZING! Such a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIE17R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made steak fingers for company using this and they loved it. I added about 2 t. garlic powder. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndjojo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States